Picking A Brain

There’s a delicate balance between picking someone’s brain and razing it. I still haven’t figured that one out, just sayin’.

The reason I mention this is because over the weekend, I tied my poor mother to a chair and crushed picked her brain because I needed help with a plot idea I’ve been mulling over for several weeks. I knew how I wanted my new mythological characters to be now, what kind of powers I wanted them to have, and even how they hook up. That was the easy part.

What I needed was a history. I hold a degree in History; nothing fancy, just a B.A. and you’d think it would be easy. Sure, I totally have an idea of twisting human history to suit my purposes, but I needed a whole background story on these beings so I could figure out what they were fighting for. That’s where Mom came in. She’s pretty twisted, did I mention that? I know she’s the reason I write weird stuff.

Anyway, I picked at her for two hours, shooting questions at her like arrows while I pinned a bright light on her. “Vere do zees people come from? Vat do they do? Vhy do they do it?” You get the idea. However painful as it sounds (and yes, I wouldn’t even let her go to the bathroom until I was finished with her), she enjoyed herself. I think.

Will I use everything she came up with? Most likely not, but her wild thoughts and ideas helped spark my own, leaving me with a burning need to get. This. Story. Down. Will October be the month I write another full-length novel? Possibly. Will I tie her down and demand more thoughts? Maybe. Will others feel the sharp edge of my inquisitive mind tearing at them like a dozen claws? I refuse to answer that question…*rubs her hands together*

It kind of makes me feel like the Skeksis from The Dark Crystal. Hey! I know! Would you like a seat in front of this pretty crystal I found? Bwahaha!

About danicaavet

Danica Avet lives and writes in the wilds of South Louisiana. Unmarried with no children, she's the proud pet of two cats and a dog. With a BA in History, she decided there were enough fry cooks in the world and tried her hand at writing. Danica loves losing herself in the antics of her characters and blushes more often than not at the things they do. She likes to define her work as paranormal romance with a touch of Cajun spice, but most times her characters turn the notch up to "five-alarm fire"!

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You know, sometimes my movie reel brain just puts a picture in my head that has me cracking up! It was complete with you taunting the ideas out by waving a plate of fresh baked cookies under her nose!

    Lol!

  2. Sounds like you had a fun brain picking party. 🙂

  3. I’m the same way! I do that to my husband all the time…minus the ropes and spotlight 😉

Leave a Reply

