Let’s Talk Horror

At this time of the year, I love to end my days watching horror movies. I’ll curl up on the couch, grab a big old bowl of popcorn, and just enjoy the show.  Lot’s channels are currently helping me get my horror fix (Thanks so much, SyFy, for your 31 days of horror!).

There are certain types of horror films that I really enjoy.  Campy flicks are my 1st love.  Yes, that’s why I’m addicted to SyFy Saturday. I don’t feel afraid during these movies–the whole thing is just a fun ride for me. Films like LAKE PLACID and ANACONDAS (The Hunt for the Blood Orchid) get watched over and over at my house.  How can I turn away from them?

And when I’m in the mood for a scare, I tend to go for the psychological flicks.  To me, what you don’t see coming for you is far more frightening than what is actually jumping out on the screen. I like to feel the build-up of tension.  The fear. Mind games always get to me.

What I don’t like? Gore for the sake of gore. Gross-out horror (yeah, HUMAN CENTIPEDE, I’m talking to you). That’s just not my style.  Poop doesn’t do it for me.

What about you?  What’s your horror style?

Thanks for coming by to check out my post!! Have a great day!

Cynthia

Cynthia Eden
www.cynthiaeden.com
ANGEL OF DARKNESS–Available 11/29/11 from Kensington Brava
When an angel falls, all hell breaks loose…

About Cynthia Eden

Cynthia Eden writes paranormal romances and romantic suspense novels. Her publishers include Kensington Brava and Harlequin Intrigue. More information about her work may be found at: www.cynthiaeden.com

Posted on October 11, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I like really scary movies w/o out the gore. I’ve mentioned it before but I find THE DESCENT to be very good. I also love Lake Placid and will watch it time and time again :).
    Can’t wait for ANGEL OF DARKNESS :).
    vsloboda(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. I’ve been watching a ridiculous amount of Syfy the past few days. Scare tactics anyone? Hubby just introduced the show to me and it’s awesome! As for my horror style, anything w/ zombies 😉

  3. Hi Cynthia! I have to admit, the SyFy channel and I have also been very good friends lately too. I must say though, my favs are the old horror/ monster/ scifi movies on TCM or AMC. I love this time of year! They showed the original Wolfman last night. I can’t wait for more. My fav is Abbott & Costello meet Frankenstein.

  4. I’m not much of a horror fan, but if it’s going to be scary (and you expect me to watch it), it has to be psychological horror, like Alien. I really admire a movie that can scare the bejeezus out of me without ever showing me anything…the pasta scene notwithstanding. 😀

  5. You know, I watched Jaws the other day and while it wasn’t as scary as it used to be…it still gave me the chills. That’s an example of the scary type of movie I like. 🙂

Leave a Reply

