Where My Mind Goes

I think writers are expected to be a bit eccentric. At least I hope they are, otherwise I’m in a lot of trouble.

I have a lot of weird, random thoughts. I’m the kind of person you’ll see chuckling to themselves for no rational reason. No, I’m not crazy. I swear. But, I do often find humor in the oddest places and at the strangest times.

For instance, I was trying to nap. My body was weary, my brain overloaded with what I’d written that day and as I closed my eyes, I remembered another nap I had in a living room full of people. It only lasted two minutes because I’d shocked my nephew, his girlfriend, and my sister with a roaring snore. Yes, I snored like a drunken lord after a fortnight of debauchery. That memory kept me from falling to sleep because I kept laughing at myself.

Most of the time I can turn odd thoughts and random images into a scene for one of my stories. I have several weird little things stashed away in the back of my mind for the perfect character to carry it through. But sometimes, the thought is so goofy, I can’t put it in a book for fear my readers would think I’d lost my ever lovin’ mind.

Which is why I’m blogging about it instead. In my day job, I work in a shipyard. No, unfortunately, I don’t have the whole Flashdance welder by day, writer by night thing going on. I do environmental work and have had to buy a pair of quality steel-toe boots for my yard excursions.

Well, on Friday, I was walking in my office when I happened to look down at my feet and there it was. The thought. I looked like a lumberjack! Okay, I wasn’t wearing plaid flannel or suspenders, but I have brown boots and jeans. It struck me as funny, especially when I tacked on the nearly irresistible urge to sing “The Lumberjack Song” by Monty Python. Do you know it? I do and if I didn’t fear being carted off by men in little white coats, I might have tap-danced my way down the hall singing “I’m a lumberjack and I’m okay, I sleep all night and I work all day”.

Instead, I’ll put that particular ear worm out there for y’all to listen to on this bright Monday morning. You can thank me later 🙂 And who knows? Maybe I’ll come up with a character who can pull off a rousing rendition of this song in an erotic paranormal romance. Can we say dancing bear shifter?

About danicaavet

Danica Avet lives and writes in the wilds of South Louisiana. Unmarried with no children, she's the proud pet of two cats and a dog. With a BA in History, she decided there were enough fry cooks in the world and tried her hand at writing. Danica loves losing herself in the antics of her characters and blushes more often than not at the things they do. She likes to define her work as paranormal romance with a touch of Cajun spice, but most times her characters turn the notch up to "five-alarm fire"!

Posted on November 7, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I LOVE the Lumberjack song! 🙂 I do the same thing, BTW. Usually when I’m driving, talking to myself, hand swinging. Then I realize people are watching, and I tap my ear like there’s a bluetooth there. But…there isn’t. 🙂

Leave a Reply

