It’s (Almost) Thanksgiving! Turkey Time–And Giveaway

Update: Thank you so much for all the wonderful comments. I absolutely loved reading about all of the things you are grateful to have in your lives. So many reasons to be thankful!! I randomly selected the winner, and that commenter is…Tamara Hoffa. Congrats!!!

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays–mostly because I don’t have to do anything but eat. Come on, how does that get better? My husband prepares the turkey. My mom makes to-die-for dressing. And, okay, if I want to help out (ha!), I make Oreo Pie. It’s win-win.

And, of course, I have lots of things that I’m thankful for, so I do enjoy having some time to sit back and reflect.Β First up on my list–my son. Each day, I’m thankful for him. I’m thankful for my family, my friends, my wonderful readers (thank you!). I’m thankful for my home, the great books I get to read, and my dog Yogi. So many things to be appreciate, and not just at Thanksgiving, but always.

What are you thankful for? Tell me, and I’ll pick one commenter to win an ANGEL OF DARKNESS book. ANGEL OF DARKNESS will be out right after Thanksgiving (I’m thankful for it’s upcoming release!).

"Motorcycle chases, bar fights, and Keenan's discovery of lust drive this crisp, heart-pounding, smart thriller." –Publishers Weekly

And, before I end the post, I wanted to share one of my FAVORITE Thanksgiving videos. Adam Sandler and Turkey Time. How can this not put you in the Thanksgiving mood?

http://widget.nbc.com/videos/nbcshort_at.swf?CXNID=1000004.10045NXC&widID=4727a250e66f9723&clipID=1179146&showID=61&siteurl=http://www.nbc.com?vty=fromWidget_Video&dst=nbc|widget|NBCVideo&__source=nbc|widget|NBCVideo

Happy (early) Thanksgiving!

Cynthia Eden
www.cynthiaeden.com
ANGEL OF DARKNESS–Available 11/29/11 from Kensington Brava
When an angel falls, all hell breaks loose…

About Cynthia Eden

Cynthia Eden writes paranormal romances and romantic suspense novels. Her publishers include Kensington Brava and Harlequin Intrigue. More information about her work may be found at: www.cynthiaeden.com

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 57 Comments.

  1. my family, all the wonderful books, authors and friends I made/met over the years:)

  2. I am thankful for my wonderful husband, Michael, By beautiful children, Mandy, Cat, and Alex, My adorable grandchildren, Tristan and AIden, children of my heart, Ashlie, Lyndsay, Autum, Billy, Kylan, Canyon, Addie, and Rylie

  3. I’m thankful for the usual: family, friends, health but also for finally living my dream of becoming published. I know it’s because I rubbed shoulders with you at the luncheon last year! Congratulations on another wonderful book. It’s on my TBR pile (virtually on my Nook when it comes out 11/29).

  4. The top few things I’m thankful for–family, friends, health, and a healthy TBR πŸ˜‰ Thanks for reminding us to remember our blessings, Cynthia! Looking forward to your newest release!

  5. We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here in Singapore.. But I am thankful for many things: Health, my family, not having any natural (or unnatural) disasters, no poverty/starvation, lol, and well, books.:)

    Your book looks great. Anything that is paranormal will be loved by me. πŸ˜€ Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. While most people love Thanksgiving time, it is a really hard time of year for me because it marks the anniversary of the stillbirth of my first daughter at term, my grandfather’s passing (on Thanksgiving itself as we were putting dinner on the table), and my mother’s passing (just last year so still struggling with that because she was my best friend aside from my husband). Still, for as emotionally draining as this time of year is, I am capable of being thankful to God for the loved ones in my life, for the knowledge that my mom and grandpa didn’t suffer with their illnesses for a terribly long time, and for a wonderful husband who helps hold me together at this time of year when I start to fall apart at the seams. I feel truly blessed because God put the one person in my life that is capable of making me smile when all I want to do is sob! Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

    • Oh, Lora, you sound like such a strong woman. My heart just broke when I read about your stillborn baby girl. I am so, so sorry for your loss.

      For a while, I hated Christmas. I miscarried twins right at Christmas one year, and I couldn’t stand the sight of the trees and blinking lights. Everyone around me seemed so happy, but I felt like I was breaking apart on the inside.

      And, to me, a stillborn birth is so much more painful. You have my deepest sympathies, and, again, i can only say–wow, you seem so incredibly strong. I hope your husband knows how lucky he is to have you in his life!

      • You have my sympathies as well, I can’t imagine losing twins at any stage of the pregnancy 😦 I can relate to the breaking apart on the inside feeling also, attempting to put on a strong, happy face, while your insides feel like screaming. It’s definitely true that what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger but sometimes I think I would prefer to be a total wuss LOL! I may not like the month of November but I am sure I will always find something to be thankful for regardless (great books to read for starters)!

  7. We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here in Singapore.. But if I am thankful for many things: health, my family, no natural (or unnatural) disasters, no poverty/starvation, and well, books.:)

    Your books look great. Anything paranormal will be loved by me.:D Happy Thanksgiving!

  8. I’m thankful to be married to my best friend. I’m grateful for my beautiful son. I’m grateful for good books to read, good friends to spend time with and a job when so many others aren’t so lucky.

    Oh and I’m grateful for the holidays so I can eat dressing and ham. I love dressing and ham.

  9. I am thankful for my family, my health and my friends. Congratulations on the upcoming release of your new book! I love the Adam Sandler video too!

  10. I am thankful for my family, my job, my friends, in my hometown and online, and all the amazing authors out there, uhem, you, who write fabulous stories that I love.

    Oh and btw…Adam Sandler is a hoot!! LMAO!!!

  11. I am so thankful for my children and my mother. They give my life so much meaning and joy!! Also to all the authors and friends Ive made on here they have made my day alittle brighter!!

  12. There are so many things in my life that I am thankful for…but right now I am especially thankful for my mom. This May I graduated from college, and for months have been unable to find a job, and one of my loan payments have increased. She is helping me by paying a little of the payment, and without her I would be screwed to be frank.

  13. I am very thankful for every blessing I have been given throughout my lifetime! Big or small I appreciate all the things that helped give me strength to keep going when the going was rough. All the things that are simply filled with joy and fun, and all that is good!!!

  14. I’m thankful for my daughters, they are a true gift. I’m mostly thankful that my husband is still here.
    He died twice only to come of the operating table in a coma for 16 days. They fixed his heart but found cancer, so he got to wake up and get chemo. I’m thankful he’s here and cancer free!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  15. Love the Turkey Song!! And it’s so empowering to read all of the reasons why people are thankful. Great post, Cynthia!

    (And I’m thankful for my family, wonderful friends, and the continuous flow of ideas I have for writing πŸ™‚

  16. I’m thankful for my incredible family, my great friends, and the five billion books I have to read soon πŸ˜›

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Jess

  17. I’m happy to have my health and that my friends and family are all well and happy too. Happy Thanks Giving.

  18. I am most thankful for my husband, children and grandchildren. And would be very thankful if I could win this book.

  19. Hi Cynthia,
    I’m thankful for my family and each day the Lord gives me. I’m thankful for the gift of sight so that I can see all the beauty bestowed upon me and so I can read read and read some more ;).
    Thank you.

  20. Ashley Applebee

    I am thankful that at this point in time everyone in my family is in relatively good health and no one has to have any surgeries! (We have a congenital heart defect in my family, so us not having doctors appointments or surgeries scheduled is a great!)

  21. I am thankful for my family, my whole family and my friends…

    emilytardy@yahoo.com

  22. Happy Thanksgiving month! My sister, Debbie, is having Thanksgiving this year (last year was my turn) and I’m thankful for that. πŸ™‚ Along with family and friends–there’s so much to be thankful for. I have to say, oreo pie sounds awesome. My mom makes pumpkin and huckleberry pies every year and they’re amazing.

  23. I am thankful for my family because ZO, mygosh, I have THEBESTFAMILYINTHEWHOLEENTIREWORLD!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

  24. I’m thankful for my family, the way we love and care for each other and are there for each other. We had Thanksgiving in October but Happy Thanksgiving to you all.

  25. I almost forgot about that Turkey song!! His original tape (yes, I just said,and meant, cassette tape, and totally aged myself) was THE BEST.

    I’m thankful for the love and support of friends and family.

    And GORGEOUS cover, by the way. Yowzer.

  26. I’m very thankful for a wonderful family & friends.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  27. Michelle Louise Pratley

    I’m Scottish and in the UK we don’t do Thanksgiving but I am thankful for the amazing college I am in, for the wonderful support I am getting in the course from my tutors and from my classmates. I am thankful for my class (NC Admin and Tourism) picking me to be Student Rep for the class. I am thankful for be dad no longer working away from home. I am thankful to my mother for supporting me in everything I do in my life and telling me to becareful. I am thankful that I have one of my grandparents still alive.

    So in short, I am thankful for everything in my life and that does inclued in reading your amazing books, Cynthia πŸ™‚

    Kind Regards,

    Michelle Louise Pratley
    Kelso, Scottish Borders, Uk

  28. Hello Cynthia

    Congrats on the upcoming release.

    I’m thankful for my family, I love my family dearly, I don’t know where I would be without them. Plus I’m thankful for newest member of my family, my nephew Connor Reese.

    Also After being told they couldn’t have children, I’m thankful to god for gifting my cousin andrew and his wife nina with a baby on it’s way.

    Plus my other cousin Mark and wife helen with there second child on it’s way.

    Debs

  29. I’m thankful for a lot of stuff this year but my number one is my new little boy! Every day he makes me smile πŸ™‚

  30. I am thankful for my family. Also Thanksgiving is my Birthday. I will be the same age as my brother until his birthday on Christmas eve. My little sister is a new years baby. My parents loved holidays.

Leave a Reply

