My Most Recent Wardrobe Malfunction

I’d like to preface this blog with the fact that I have great taste in shoes.  Terrific.  I know pumps, boots, wedges…you name it, I can even be risky with shoes.

However, not so much with clothing.  If I’m shopping by myself, I often look around to see who else is shopping in the same section I’m in.  If all the ladies appear to be about ninety years old, I go find another section to shop in.

Today we’re having a big CLAIMED signing party at the Gourmet Way with wine, yummies, and giveaways.  So, I thought I’d hit the mall and find something cute to wear.  I found a kinda cool goldish top I thought I’d wear with my black skirt and boots.  Well, last night I put it on and ran down to my husband’s den to get his opinion.  He and our twelve-year-old son were watching football.

I wish I had the words to accurately describe the absolute look of horror on their faces.

Even worse, they were deadly silent.  Neither one of them could speak.  Then, my sweet son said, “Why hello there, Goldmember,” in a perfect imitation of Austin Powers.  I gave this kid life!  Well, my husband laughed so hard I thought he’d lose a kidney.

Keep in mind that the two main men in my life are usually very supportive.  Yet the goldish top was just too much for them.

So, still not convinced, I called my sister and described the top.  She sounded doubtful.  Then she said, “It’s not as bad as the one you brought to New York, is it?”  (That’s a conversation for another day.)  But I said, “Maybe.”

So I took a picture with my phone and sent it to her.  After several moments, she texted back and said, “Well, it wouldn’t be so bad with a long black skirt and boots.”

Those of you who have sisters are groaning right now.  Yeah.  When your sister passes up a chance to give you a hard time, she’s feeling VERY sorry for you. 

So the gold shirt has to go.

If you’re anywhere in the area of Gourmet Way tonight, please stop by and say hi!  (And see what I decided to wear).

About Rebecca Zanetti

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of paranormal, contemporary, and romantic suspense romances. Current series include: Dark Protectors, Sin Brothers, and Maverick Montana.

Posted on November 9, 2011, in Rebecca Zanetti and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. At least you have good taste in shoes at least. I have neither shoes nor clothing!!!! A week before my first book signing I walked into a Maurices (clothing store in Iowa) and a cute little high schooler bops up to me and says, “What can I help you find?”
    I said, “I want a cute pair of jeans that look cool, even though I’m an old fart.”
    She wasn’t quite sure what to say to that but proceeded to bring me over 15 pairs of jeans to try on. She was soooo sweet.

    Have a super time tonight. If I lived in your state I’d come for sure. I’ll be there in spirit. 🙂

  2. Wow…that must have really been some top…lol….

  3. I have GOT to see this top!! Sorry, Rebecca, but I’m dying over this, LOL. My problem is I can pick clothes out for other people (and myself sometimes), cute things that suit them, or flatter their eyes, whatever. (I watch a lot of Project Runway) But I hate dressing up. I’d rather go around in a T-shirt, jeans, and sneakers than anything else. And I’d adore wearing cute shoes if they had them in my size *sniffles* 😉 I think it’s hilarious that your son had a comment to make. You gotta love them!

    And no matter what you wear, you’ll knock ’em dead at the signing!

  4. Haa! I really want to see a picture of that top…Those shoes you posted are super hot! Is it sad that I know those are Louboutins? (My bff has that pair and let me wear them once!) Whatever you wear, I know you’ll have fun at your signing 🙂

  5. Oh, I bet they look great! Now you know we need a picture, right??

Leave a Reply

