Three Things

Book Two Cover

Enemy Games

Quite by accident this past week, while registering for the Romantic Times Book Lovers Con in Chicago, I discovered that Enemy Games is a finalist in the RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards. Yay! And a great big “Thank You!” to the folks at RT Magazine. That was first.

 

Second, I bring you a public service announcement: When the instructions on your heating pad say “Don’t fall asleep with heating pad on” – they mean it. I’m sporting a jaunty red burn on my throat from possibly having disregarded those instructions. What? I had a migraine and no meds. The hot pad was my only hope of sleep. It worked. Even if I look like I need to come up with some kind of new supernatural sexy hero type in order to explain the burnmark hicky. (Happy ending. A quick call to the MD on call next morning resulted in meds being refilled in short order. The local pharmacy handed me my drugs within the hour and I had my day back. But I’ll have that compromisingly placed burn for a few days.)

 

Lastly: One of the joys of living aboard a boat is all the wildlife that hangs around on the water. On Monday, I had a wildlife close encounter. It was a rare sunny day – notably not warm – but sunny. I was sitting with the cat in my lap when the boat dipped to one side as if someone had stepped aboard. I’d have looked up to see who’d come aboard, but we’d dipped the other way *AWAY* from the dock. Then I hear the scrabbling of claws on gel coat. What the hey? The cat and I glance at the window. There’s a wet, brown, furry critter shuffling down my side deck past my galley window. The cat levitated off my lap and ran for a better vantage point. I stood. The critter paused and looked in the window at me. River otter! Not two feet from my nose. I waved. I swear that otter blinked, then turned and continued on his merry way to my foredeck. He lolled around in the sun where I was able to snap a truly craptastic photo with my cell phone. Here he is:

Cheeky little bugger. Cute. From a distance. Thing is – otters stink to high heaven. Of fish. And dear GODS do they make a mess. The cat desperately wanted to go out and have words with the interloper. Did not happen. Those otters have great big claws and jaws designed to crush shell fish. The visit didn’t last long, if only because the sun didn’t last long.ย  He bailed overboard when I stepped outside to get a better glimpse of him. You’d have thought *I* smelled bad rather than Mr. Otter.

Can’t help but secretly enjoy the wet, webbed-footprints he left behind, even I won’t enjoy scrubbing otter poop from my no-skid.

About Marcella Burnard

Author of fast-paced, action-packed SFR and Fantasy

Posted on December 8, 2011, in Marcella Burnard. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Great photo of the otter! Yes, the public service announcement I’ve made myself a few times…lol
    only my burn from the heating pad was on the lower part of my belly and it left a scar. My doctor laughs every time she sees it and knew right away it was from a heating pad, but like you said I needed relief from pain at the time so it’s a small price to pay!

    Congrats on Enemy Games being a finalist in the RT Reviewersโ€™ Choice Awards!

  2. I haven’t had an up close wildlife encounter but I have seen otters before. They are very cute flip-flopping around ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Congrats, Marcella!!

    Your otter story reminds me of when my brother and I were fishing from the bank down the bayou (I live in south Louisiana). He said, “Look, seals!” I looked over and three otters were crossing the road. I looked because he said seals which would have been amazing since they aren’t natural to south Louisiana. Of course I had to pick on him about it and even though it happened nearly 2 years ago, I still sometimes say, “Look, seals!” ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hee hee! Seals. He’d have been better off saying “Gators!” At least that one would be plausible. ๐Ÿ˜€ We do have seals. Harbor seals (small) and transitory California Sea Lions (BIG and cranky). The sea lions are here for the winter. They don’t come into the marina like the harbor seals do, but we can hear them barking at one another just past the breakwater.

  4. I love the otter pic – I think it’s fab!

  5. Other than the countless skunks we have around here and squirrels I have not had any such encounters and for that I am grateful.

  6. Oh, you otter visitor is so cute. One of my favorite movies is Ring of Bright Water, even though I cry at the end, I still can’t stop myself from watching it over & over.

  7. Michelle Bledsoe

    Congrats.
    And yes I know what you mean about heating pads. Also those heating things you can stick to your back? not a good idea to put on your forehead to get rid of a headache either. What can I say, like you I wanted to sleep.
    The otter sure is cute from a safe distance…LOL
    I would love to live on a boat for a while.

    • Oo. Good pointer on thermal pads. ๐Ÿ˜€ Living on a boat has good and bad points. Bad: always cluttered and you have to clean every day because the small space concentrates the mess. Good: water, wildlife, the view…

  8. Congrats! Enemy Games is a terrific book and deserves to be chosen! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Congrats!!

    And great story. Definitely an experience. Although I wouldnt want to clean up after it either.

  10. So cute! ๐Ÿ™‚ I would love to live on a boat! For a little while. *doesn’t like small spaces too much*

  11. OK, now THAT is cool!! I know they stink, but I love watching them, they are the funniest little guys! There used to be a bunch of them around here in a river and we’d sit and watch them for hours some days….they are so playful!

Leave a Reply

