My Mind Is Stuck in Science Fiction

First let me just say I sure hope today is my day to post. I’ve been a little out there lately and can’t seem to keep up with time. Maybe it’s the fact that I’m spacey anyway or maybe it’s the new book I’m writing. You see, for years I’ve writtten just about everything from young adult (yeah my young adults were way too advanced 🙂 )  to suspense. While I’ve loved writing in several genres there are two that I have no ventured into. One, historicals. Maybe it’s that I’m a tad lazy or that I would rather read them then write them, but I just can’t write historical romances. Two, science fiction. All right, I fully admit without any shame that I will stay up until one in the morning to watch Star Trek. I love this genre.

I’ve always yearned to write a science fiction story, but until a few nights ago I didn’t think I could. I’m still on the fence on whether I actually can or not. I get concerned that my wording isn’t syfyish enough. I mean, how human/earth should my characters talk and think? I don’t know!!!

But so far I am liking my GS 1 males and human pilot. I think my pilot, Melinda is going to keep those ultimate male GS 1’s in line. Maybe. Right now they are about to find themselves in a black hole traveling through space. Ok, so here is when I start to panic. What does this feel like, look like, and sound like? What exactly should be happening while in a black hole?

Maybe my imagination isn’t big enough for this afterall? Or maybe I need to read more 🙂 yeah I like that section option much better. Time to grab Marcella’s second book and read up on my new genre 🙂

 

Happy Monday Folks!!

Sayde

About JenniferDorough

I love capturing sweet southern memories. My goal is to capture your family in portraits that showcase their uniqueness. I try to capture your memories that represent your family.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’m right there with you, Sayde. I love reading sci-fi romance and though I have ideas for stories, I’m not sure I could pull it off. It’s kind of like my refusal to attempt a mystery: I’m just not clever enough to come up with a perfect crime. When it comes to sci-fi, as much as I adore it, I don’t think I could write one with real authority. Good luck though!

  2. I love space opera and sci-fic… One of my favorites is Lois Bujold McMaster… Her Miles series is terrific…

  3. Michelle Bledsoe

    I not a real big sci-fi reading fan. Now there are a couple of sci-fi series that I like: all the Stargate series and Firefly.

  4. Happy Monday, Sayde!! Good luck with your Sci-Fi!

  5. Nothing like a new genre! Good luck exploring and learning! 🙂

  6. I think youll do great. Looking forward to hearing more about it.

  7. You will do great! You will probably second guess everything a couple of times but you will never know until you give it a serious try. I can’t wait to hear more about your progress.

  8. I seldom read Sci-fi but I know my son loves the genre.

Leave a Reply

