Fear Factor

No, I’m not talking about the show. I never really watched it because the only thing that could motivate me to do any of those crazy things would be death. As in if I don’t eat that scorpion, I’m going to die. Or if I don’t let myself be slung across a great divide, I’ll die. Heck, I’ve even joked many times that I don’t know if I’d run from anything. Not because I’m brave, but because I hate running.

However, there are times when I have to suck up my fear because there’s no other choice. I work in a male dominated company. A shipyard, to be exact. I do office work mainly, but sometimes my job requires me to face my fears. Mainly heights and water. Yet these are two things I have to deal with on a regular basis.

For instance, when it rains, I have to pretty much hang myself over a bulkhead to take water samples while a river churns below me. No, it isn’t as dramatic as all that unless you’re scared of water, which I am. I always cringe when I have to lean over to catch a water sample because I can too easily imagine my clumsy self tumbling into the river. *shudders*

Then there’s the height thing. Like when I have to climb onto a barge or tugboat. There are stairs, yes, but they’re grated stairs where you can see the ground below as you climb higher and higher. Then when you finally get to the top, you’re twenty-thirty feet in the air. *wince*

But it isn’t just work that requires these things of me. No, family does as well. Have you ever been on a scissor-lift? It’s this machine that looks very innocent. When you press a button the “scissor” folds open up, lifting you into the air. I had to get on one of these when helping my brother-in-law build his airplane hangar shed. I managed to help bolt two pieces in place before my brain said “You’re so stupid! Get down!”.

Or when my brother-in-law insists I have to go fishing with him. In his 11′ aluminum boat. I’d prefer if it was a yacht or something much bigger so I don’t feel like getting into it will tip it over. That actually happened to me last year (the last time I went fishing with him). I stepped into the boat but pushed it away instead which left me hanging off the dock by my fingernails with both feet in the boat and my butt inching closer and closer to the 30-something degree water.

Yeah, I don’t have much luck with water or heights. But like I said, sometimes you have to suck it up. It doesn’t mean I handle it well, but I do what I can.

What fears have you had to face in your day job/family life?

About danicaavet

Danica Avet lives and writes in the wilds of South Louisiana. Unmarried with no children, she's the proud pet of two cats and a dog. With a BA in History, she decided there were enough fry cooks in the world and tried her hand at writing. Danica loves losing herself in the antics of her characters and blushes more often than not at the things they do. She likes to define her work as paranormal romance with a touch of Cajun spice, but most times her characters turn the notch up to "five-alarm fire"!

Posted on December 19, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I think my laundry room is haunted. There are definitely monsters in there. 🙂 Great blog and HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

  2. Ironically, in case you didn’t watch it the last episode of Fear Factor had them eating live scorpions! I have fear of heights and creepy crawlies. I don’t mind it so much with stairs and elevators but I know some places have completely clear ones and that would scare me to use.

    • Yeah, some height things don’t bother me much like elevators or planes, but it depends on the stairs I’m climbing. Stadium steps where I have to go to the nosebleed section? OMG, I start freaking out, LOL

  3. Edges. I hate having to drive into the mountains along cliff roads with logging truck to visit family. I’ll spend the extra hour’s drive to go around.

    • You know…this is what makes me kind of glad I grew up in south Louisiana. We don’t have mountains or hills. Of course, there’s always that fear of driving into the bayou when you have to share the road with big trucks.

  4. I for one am not a fan of the show Fear Factor, I don’t think it’s bravery as much as plain stupidity. I agree, no way would I ever eat a scorpion, or let spiders crawl over my face while my head is locked in a box, ewww. As for fear in my job? Well I’m a nurse and my biggest fear is that I will forget what I know. Especially in an emergency situation, I always wonder, Will I freeze? I haven’t yet, but right now my brain just sort of takes over, but as I get older, that fear keeps crawling through my brain like one of those spiders from the box. As for family life, it’s the constant fear that I could always be better for my kids. I think most parents feel that at some point though.

    Awesome post and thanks for the smile :).

    Merry Christmas,
    BK Walker

  5. Michelle Bledsoe

    I fear crowds. I usually shop early mornings or late at night. I also fear the usual things like snakes, lizards, and frogs…LOL
    Merry Christmas!!

  6. OUR FEARS ARE SELF-PRESERVATION MECHANISMS!! *not getting on a scissor life – not ever!!!*

  7. Darkness… but I have to overcome it when my daughter was born… can’t show her that I am scared…

  8. I don’t really have to face any fears at work, I work in an office and the most dreadful thing that can happen there is when the fire alarm goes off because someone in the kitchen of the cafeteria burned something. I do have a fear of water and have tried to overcome it by taking swimming lessons, I’ve taken lessons five times…unfortunately that’s not really working for me but at least now I know that I can float and doggie paddle if I have to. I don’t have a fear of heights but do suffer from a slight case of vertigo, so I guess I face that issue when I have to climb on a stepping stool at home to get at things on the top shelf in the closets or cabinets (I’m very short). That’s pretty much it for me

  9. Oh, now I’ll have to confess…I adore Fear Factor. Sure, I’d never do any of those things, but I sure do enjoy watching others…

  10. Great blog. I have to admit I dont like talking in front of people. I can totally do it and have taken classes in it and everything but I hate it more than I can say.

Leave a Reply

