Welcome Guest Author Shawna Thomas

Please welcome guest author Shawna Thomas! A very talented writer, and fellow Carina Press author, she’s here today talking about goals for the new year!

Can you believe we’re almost half way through the first month of 2012? I can’t. Where does time go?

I don’t make resolutions, but I did make some important decisions and set some firm goals for this year.

I won’t bore you with why I don’t make resolutions or what the difference is between resolutions and goals, at least in my mind. You’ll just have to trust me.

A lot of those goals and decisions involve my writing career. Last year was a year of change. I got married, expanded my family by a stepson and got pregnant. Also in the middle of all that, Carina Press published my first book, Altered Destiny.

Taking Altered Destiny through the publications process with Carina was a dream come true. Because of all the wonderful and good changes, I didn’t spend the time I should have promoting the book. Most writers will tell you promotion takes a lot of time and energy. Two things I have in short supply.

Also, even though Altered Destiny has received some pretty good reviews, one book does not make your career. I have several partial finished manuscripts needing to be edited, polished and submitted. Queries and synopses need to be written and…you guessed it. Time.

Time is a fickle thing. While waiting in the doctor’s office, an hour drags. At home, an hour isn’t enough to clean out my email inbox.

So my goal for this year is to spend more time writing. You’d think it would be easy. I love to write. Spending time doing what you love should be easy. But every writer will tell you, there’s just not enough hours in the day.

You see, writers work from home. At home you will also find laundry, dishes, dust and a hundred tasks to be done. There are often also children, husbands, dogs and phone calls. All of which take…time.

Barring the discovery of a Tardis machine or Hermione loaning me her time turner, time to write means some difficult choices. Maybe a little less House Hunters, Facebook and Twitter. Maybe some creative crockpot cooking.

So did you make any resolutions or goals this year? Have you kept them?

For more information on Shawna, please visit Shawna’s website or her page at Carina Press.

Posted on January 10, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Shawna, welcome to the blog! Even though I don’t have children, I find my home is the last place I can get any writing done. There’s always something else I can be (or should be) doing which means I might write 100-400 words in two days if I ever get to sit at my desk.

    I don’t make resolutions either, but I set goals and I have goals to finish at least three books this year. I think that’s a fair goal and completely attainable.

    Good luck with your new release and writing!

  2. Thanks for blogging here today, Shawna! I used to make resolutions but now I’m more of the goal mindset also. I know what my goals for the first six months of this year are. Since I don’t know what contract(s) I might sign, etc. I’m holding off on making goals for the rest of the year on the chance I have contractual obligations. If I don’t get the contracts I’m hoping for, then my goals will change. I’m ridiculously organized, lol. 🙂

  3. Great post. I wish you great success. As for resolutions, I don’t make them. Why set myself up to fail ;).

  4. Hi Everyone! It’s amazing how many people don’t make resolutions.

    Katie, thank you so much for having me here! I used to be ridiculously organized too. Now, I try. I wish you many contracts to sign.

  5. Thanks for stopping by, Shawna! You said it right: time is definitely a fickle thing. I’ve got two little ones that gladly steal mommy’s writing time.

    I didn’t really make resolutions this year…other than hitting the New York Times, but you know, that’s entirely out of my control. 😉

  6. Thanks so much for guest blogging with us today, Shawna! I’m with you on writing at home…that darn laundry keeps calling my name, I would LOVE to have a laundry fairy. Seriously.

    I didn’t make any resolutions. My plan is to keep plugging along. 🙂

  7. Hi Shawna! Thanks so much for blogging here today. Time is my nemesis too. It is not uncommon for a massive pile of laundry (dirty or clean) to be waiting. Or worse, I do the same load over and over because I forget that its in there in the first place. 🙂

  8. Shawna, I feel your pain on wanting more writing time! I’m about to just let that housework slide–I want to dive into my story.

    Thanks so much for blogging with us!

Leave a Reply

