The Waiting Game

Happy belated New Year! I know, I know, I missed my post two weeks ago, but I blame the holidays for that. Now that’s over, I can concentrate on being a responsible blogger.

Unfortunately, with the end of the distraction of the holidays, I have to deal with my instant gratification problem. That’s one thing about writing that drives me insane: It’s not an industry that moves at the speed of light.

You spend weeks, sometimes months writing your story. When you reach The End, it’s just the beginning because then you have to edit and revise, make it pretty. After that, it’s on to critique partners and beta readers so they can look for things you’ve missed. Once you get the story back, you spend even more time weeding through it with a fine-toothed comb until it’s as polished as you can possibly make it.

Depending on your situation, this starts either a round of queries to agents and editors, or you send it along to your agent for them to send it along to editors. And then there’s the waiting. And waiting. And waiting.

That’s where I am right now with three books. Two are in the agent’s hands and one is in the beta reader’s hands. Now what do I do with myself?

Keep writing, of course! I already have a new story in mind, one completely unlike anything I’ve written before. Normally I stick to the paranormal being type stories, but this time I’m going ahead in time with no supernatural people. When I explained my story to my mother (who knows what makes me click) she looked at me in shock. Yes, shock, because what I intend to write doesn’t fit in with what I’ve done before. Which is a good thing, I think. Taking risks in writing is what keeps your edge sharp and readers interested.

So while I wait and wait, I’ll write and write.

But I really do wish this was an instant gratification industry. It’d be so much easier on my nerves. LOL

About danicaavet

Danica Avet lives and writes in the wilds of South Louisiana. Unmarried with no children, she's the proud pet of two cats and a dog. With a BA in History, she decided there were enough fry cooks in the world and tried her hand at writing. Danica loves losing herself in the antics of her characters and blushes more often than not at the things they do. She likes to define her work as paranormal romance with a touch of Cajun spice, but most times her characters turn the notch up to "five-alarm fire"!

Posted on January 16, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I so completely agree! The waiting is the hardest part…and there’s so much of it! Congrats on the new story…have fun with it. 🙂

  2. Congrats on being brave enough to venture outside of what makes you comfortable. If it’s a good, solid story, it won’t matter that there’s no supernatural beings. I’m sure you’ll rock it anyway. 🙂

    And good luck on your submissions!

Leave a Reply

