All for love

Despite what big box stores would have you believe, Valentine’s Day is not about chocolates or roses or stuffed bears that sing Justin Bieber songs. It’s about love and appreciation. It’s a day to remind that special someone in your life why you love them.

My husband and I don’t generally fuss over Valentine’s Day. We’ve gone to dinner, to the movies, and I’ve received the occasional over-priced bouquet of red roses, tied with a big red bow.

This year we’re doing something different and I’m over the moon thrilled.

We’re going to see Peter Cetera in concert! (What? You mean you’ve never heard of him? He was the lead singer of Chicago, one of the best voices of the 80’s! I’m aging myself here, aren’t I?) Anyhow, I’m kind of a Cetera freak. Any time his music comes on the radio it gets blasted and I sing my off-tuned heart out. My husband isn’t a Peter Cetera fan. (He’s not a fan of my singing, either, but I can’t blame him for that.) He’s more of an AC/DC, Lynyrd Skynyrd type of guy.

But get this…Husband is going to the concert anyway. For me.

He’s going to drive two hours away from home, put up with lines from hell, sit up in the nosebleeds and sing along with me (oh yes he is) all night long. Then all the way home, he’ll get to listen to Cetera CD’s, because what else do you do after you’ve seen someone in concert? That’s right! You keep right on listenin’!

If that’s not love, I don’t know what is.

And just because I love Peter Cetera so much (and want to share it with y’all), here’s one of my all-time favorite songs. (Check out the hair in the video! Awesome!)

Whatever you do this Valentine’s Day, or whomever you spend it with, I hope it’s a great one!

About Kristin Miller

New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Kristin Miller writes sweet and sassy contemporary romance, romantic suspense, and paranormal romance of all varieties. Kristin has degrees in psychology, English, and education, and taught high school and middle school English before crossing over to a career in writing. She lives in Northern California with her alpha male husband and their two children. You can usually find her in the corner of a coffee shop, laptop in front of her and mocha in hand, using the guests around her as fuel for her next book. Facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorKristinMiller Twitter: www.twitter.com/kristinmiller02 Web: www.kristinmiller.net

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I don’t know what you have against Justin Beiber, but it needs to end today.

    • Is that seriously the only thing you got out of what Kristin said about Valentines day and what its meaning is. Wow!!! And you know, Kristin has the right to her opinion of Justin Beiber.

  2. Kristin, I have to agree that is a great song. I also loved the movie it was played in as well.
    And I also agree with your view on Valentines day and what it stands for.
    There are so many that believes that they have to spend great amounts of money to show there love or even interest for one another, me I believe it to be the little things that mean the most. Any one can go out and buy things. I am currently not dating anyone, but to me it would mean more if a man put more of his heart in a gift then his money. To me if you have to buy his/her love, well then its not real.

    Teresa

  3. I didn’t even know who Justin Beiber was until a few months ago. They don’t really play him on the heavy metal stations I listen to. LOL

    I’m a Chicago fan, so in essence, that amkes me a Peter Cetera fan. He does have one hell of a voice and I think it’s so sweet your husband is going with you to see him. I hope y’all have fun!

  4. He sounds like a keeper!

Leave a Reply

