Ah, Romance

Tomorrow’s Valentine’s Day which means romance is on a lot of people’s minds.

As a romance writer (even if it is erotic paranormal romance), I love telling stories of people who meet and fall in love. Of course, because I enjoy writing about the paranormal, my characters aren’t your average Joe and Jane. They’re shifters, or vampires, or banshees, or elves. But romance is the key.

I think I’m like most romance writers. I love telling stories about romance and reading them. Where I probably differ is I really don’t like to watch romantic movies. Sorry, please don’t pelt me with rotten tomatos, but I’d rather watch a good horror or comedy to a sappy romance.

I don’t like to cry and most sappy romances are the ones that make you cry whether you want to or not. Those don’t do it for me at all. Am I just weird, or do other people feel this way? I always wondered if other romance writers avoid the heartbreaking romantic dramas that seem so popular. Maybe one day I’ll take a poll on the subject.

But I don’t think I’ll change my mind. When I think about love and romance, I like to think about the good things like laughter, intimacy, and warmth. How about you? How do you like your romance?

About danicaavet

Danica Avet lives and writes in the wilds of South Louisiana. Unmarried with no children, she's the proud pet of two cats and a dog. With a BA in History, she decided there were enough fry cooks in the world and tried her hand at writing. Danica loves losing herself in the antics of her characters and blushes more often than not at the things they do. She likes to define her work as paranormal romance with a touch of Cajun spice, but most times her characters turn the notch up to "five-alarm fire"!

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love, love, love my romance books ~ all the various types. But can’t stand romance movies… Give me Sci-Fi or Action, throw in an occassional commedy. But the sappy stuff can stay far far away. I’m glad to know I’m not the only odd duck out there 🙂 Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

