Post Valentine’s Day Blues

I hope everyone had a fabulous Valentines, even if, maybe especially if, you spent it alone. It isn’t one of my favorite holidays, I admit. Okay. It’s possible the words ‘romantic extortion’ have passed my lips in regard to Valentine’s Day. Not that I don’t appreciate romantic gestures. I do! But not because an entire industry has grown up around telling you to cough up some great momento of everlasting love. 

The other reason Valentine’s isn’t my favorite is that once it’s past, there’s a relatively long, dreary stretch before we get another holiday. Oh, I know St. Patrick’s day comes in mid-March, but what did the Romans say? “Beware the Ides of March”? Do you suppose they were talking about green Guinness? Should they have been? Really, the next holiday that’s good for anything at all is Easter and that’s just because of the chocolate. Wait. I can’t have chocolate any more…Okay. Black jelly beans. Easter is all worthwhile because even as a kid, I loved black jelly beans. Had to fight my father for them every Easter. In most parts of the world, the weather starts brightening up right around that holiday, too. Not so much in Seattle. There’s a reason most of our ‘egg hunt’ events are held indoors. Which is fine, because then you’re inside with the wonderful smell of whatever Mom’s cooking for dinner. This is the final reason I’m not crazy about Valentine’s Day. Mom’s not cooking. And if Mom’s not cooking, it’s not really a holiday.

Image source: http://www.picturesdepot.com/wallpapers/209408/valentines+day.html

About Marcella Burnard

Author of fast-paced, action-packed SFR and Fantasy

Posted on February 16, 2012, in Marcella Burnard. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’d venrtue that this article has saved me more time than any other.

Leave a Reply

