Titanic Changes

If your head hasn’t been buried under a rock the last few years, you know the publishing industry is changing. Bookstores are disappearing and e-books are on the rise. For authors who have established their careers in traditional ways, the transition to e-only books may be a bit scary. For authors like me who are just starting out, e-books and e-readers are providing opportunities to reach readers without busting our backs (and our fingers) trying to claw our way into New York.

I have the same goal I had three years ago, when I hopped on the publishing train: write the best book I can, then hope and pray that the book gets bought by a Big 6 publisher for a traditional print run. I want to walk into Barnes and Noble, find my book on the shelves and hold it in my hands. Ah, the dream. It’s not too much to ask, right? Right…

But as new opportunities have come around, I’ve found myself jumping into the self-publishing pool. Last week (when I missed my blog post) I was busy publishing my erotic historical novella, ONE NIGHT TO REMEMBER.

I’ve had an obsession with the Titanic since 1988, when I read my first book on the subject and became determined to find out more. Since then, I’ve become an avid collector of everything Titanic. (I even have a chunk of coal that was brought up from the wreck site enclosed in a necklace—I’m wearing it now.)

Anyhow, it’s been my dream to write a book about the Titanic, and I simply didn’t have the time needed to sell it to a major publisher. The 100 year anniversary of the sinking is next month. I needed to publish this puppy *now*. I put everything I had into this novella. All my research, my emotions, my beliefs about why certain things played out the way they did…it’s all there.

If you’re interested in going back to Titanic for a bit (I always am), here’s the cover and blurb:

First class clothing designer Elizabeth Scott isn’t all that she appears. She may be elegant and poised on the outside, dining with the richest on the ship, but she’s hiding a dark secret within.

Thieves boarded the Titanic, too…

Officer Thomas McGuire is as honest as they come. Working to make a decent living on the ship of dreams, he can’t believe his eyes when the most striking lady he’s ever seen steals from another first class passenger. As the night goes on, Thomas must decide whether he plans to arrest or seduce Elizabeth and she’s not making it easy on him–the heat sparking between them is unlike anything they’ve ever known.

Time is running out…

The Titanic is sinking fast. Elizabeth has finally met a true gentleman–one who gazes upon her with total adoration yet fulfills her deepest fantasies. But being a gentleman means more than playing the stuffy part. Thomas insists on helping other passengers until the very end, even if that means going down with the ship.

In the fight for their lives, they just might find a love worth dying for.

*

If you’re interested, you can get your copy for .99 cents HERE.

And if you want to read some really cool facts about the Titanic, I’ve got information on my website: www.kristinmiller.net

About Kristin Miller

New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Kristin Miller writes sweet and sassy contemporary romance, romantic suspense, and paranormal romance of all varieties. Kristin has degrees in psychology, English, and education, and taught high school and middle school English before crossing over to a career in writing. She lives in Northern California with her alpha male husband and their two children. You can usually find her in the corner of a coffee shop, laptop in front of her and mocha in hand, using the guests around her as fuel for her next book. Facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorKristinMiller Twitter: www.twitter.com/kristinmiller02 Web: www.kristinmiller.net

Posted on March 8, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Congrats on ONE NIGHT TO REMEMBER! It looks great!

  2. Congratulations, Kristin! You’ve taken the plunge while I’ve been standing on the edge of the pool staring at the water. I may have to pick your brain 😉 It looks and sounds fantastic!

    • kristinmiller02

      Thanks! I’m not a self-published pro by any means, but I’m happy to answer any questions you shoot my way. 🙂

  3. Congrats on your release Kristin!! That’s so exciting and I love your cover 🙂

Leave a Reply

