Branding

Hello everyone! Today I want to talk about branding, and no not the hot poker to flesh kind of branding. I am talking about author branding. I had never but much into author branding until this weekend. I’ve always wrote what struck me and marketed it. Now however, I’m wondering if I should stick with one genre and stay there. Most of you know that I write mainly contemporary western romance and erotic romance. I was told that if I ventured into the romantic suspense that I needed to leave behind my erotic romance. I have missed feelings about this. I am writing a romantic suspense trilogy and really want to publish it. Yet I’m not ready to say goodbye to the genre that I started in. As a reader how do you feel about author branding. If you are reading one author and that author stays in the same setting(cowboys) but moves her story base from erotic to suspense is this a problem for you? As a writer how do you feel about author branding?

thanks everyone

Sayde Grace

About JenniferDorough

I love capturing sweet southern memories. My goal is to capture your family in portraits that showcase their uniqueness. I try to capture your memories that represent your family.

Posted on March 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I apologize if this is a duplicate comment. I think I’m having WordPress issues!

    I personally don’t think there is any reason why you can’t write in different genres or sub-genres and use the same name (Maya Banks uses the same name for all of her different things). If you were writing, say, erotic and inspirations, then, yes, I’d probably use two names. But if you’re branching into RS, why not just use Sayde?

Leave a Reply

