Destiny

I believe in destiny. I believe some things are fated to happen. That there is a grand design for everything and everyone. I remember the exact day I realized destiny existed. It was the day I picked up my very first Titanic book in fourth grade. By the time I’d finished reading it, I had more questions than answers.

What do you mean the Titanic was on fire? Why didn’t they slow the ship if they received ice warnings? Why didn’t the lookout have binoculars? What about the calm of the sea and the lack of a moon made for “perfect conditions” for which to hide the iceberg?

I set about to answer those questions and didn’t realize it’d lead me to the obsession with the ship that I have today.

There is no doubt in my mind that the Titanic was fated to sink. (Feel free to disagree, but I don’t believe there was anything the Titanic’s officers could have done to save the ship, even before it left port.) But if that’s the case, and the Titanic was truly fated to sink, what else is fated? Do we have a say in anything at all or are we bouncing along a path that’s already been decided for us?

I have a whole list of things that happened that cold April night on my website HERE, if you want to read about the chain of events that led to one of the greatest maritime tragedies in history.

Whether it was inflated ego, man-made error, a blue berg that shouldn’t have been in the vicinity, a flat calm sea, a moonless night, a coal bunker burning from the start of the voyage, a missing set of binoculars, tiller vs. rudder command confusion, whatever…it’s simply hard to believe the events lined up so perfectly out of sheer coincidence.

That’s what I want to know from you today: destiny or chance? What do you believe?

(Also: If you’re interested in going back to Titanic, but don’t want to be swallowed into Jack and Rose’s ill-fated romance, ONE NIGHT TO REMEMBER is my 80 page erotic historical romance that takes place on the Titanic the night it sank. This time the hero and heroine get their happily ever after. It’s currently .99 on Amazon.)

About Kristin Miller

New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Kristin Miller writes sweet and sassy contemporary romance, romantic suspense, and paranormal romance of all varieties. Kristin has degrees in psychology, English, and education, and taught high school and middle school English before crossing over to a career in writing. She lives in Northern California with her alpha male husband and their two children. You can usually find her in the corner of a coffee shop, laptop in front of her and mocha in hand, using the guests around her as fuel for her next book. Facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorKristinMiller Twitter: www.twitter.com/kristinmiller02 Web: www.kristinmiller.net

Posted on March 22, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

