First loves…

Some years back, I was house/dogsitting for a work friend and I caught a pretty bad flu. My husband couldn’t even sleep in the same bed because any movement would… be very alarming (enough said). So while I tried to breathe as shallowly as possible to survive the day, my husband searched the room’s bookshelf and found a whole lotta paperback romances. He selected Honor’s Splendour by Julie Garwood, which became my first romance. (Full disclosure: before that time I think I had read one category romance, but it had been stripped. More on that book in another post.)

Anyway, I was so sick the first day of the Dread Flu that I couldn’t even hold the book myself. My husband did the sweetest thing, worthy of a romance—he read it aloud to me. I hung on every single word, not just to save my life (which I was sure was coming to an end), but because I’d never encountered a book that put all the good bits right up front, instead of burying them in a subplot.

The hero’s name was Duncan, and he will forever have my husband’s voice. It’s one of my all-time faves.

After the first hell day passed, I was able to read by myself to pass the time. I conquered a few more of her Garwoods, and as I already had an interest in writing fiction, soon after I attempted my first romance, a medieval. I didn’t get very far into it (I think it opened with the heroine trying to escape the invading Normans). But secretly, one day I hope to go back and write the story. I’ll have to name the hero Matthew.

What was your first romance?

Posted on April 4, 2012, in Erin Kellison. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I. Love. Julie Garwood’s historical romances. In fact, I think I reread Honor’s Splendour a couple of months ago because I loved it that much.

    My very first romance was a Harlequin. My aunt gave me about 500 of them she got from her neighbor and that’s when I discovered my love for romance. I was 13. I can’t remember what that author’s name was, but it was about a sheik and a gymanist. There was no looking back after that.

  2. Probably Johanna Lindsay, another historical writer; but I found a Julie Garwood one day when going through a second hand bookstore and the owner said: you will love them. She was so right!!!

  3. I really can’t remember who wrote the first romance I read but I know it was a book written sometime in either the late 1970’s or 1980’s….

  4. I love Honor’s Splendour!! Such a great book. 😉

  5. I couldn’t remember the title at first, I had to sit for a few moments as the characters and story line unfolded in my mind. It was Moontide Embrace by Constance O’Banyon. It was a historical romance I read when I was 14. Which some 20 years later still sits on my bookshelf as it still is a favorite. They don’t make them like that anymore, with the underage sex and all.

  1. Pingback: FIrst Romance « Words, Books, and Other Magic

Leave a Reply

