Writing Work Station

Happy Thursday everyone!

Today’s post has to be shorter than normal because edits on Last Vamp Standing are due Sunday evening and I’ve got a TON of work to do.

As I sit here, staring at my work station, I realize how messy it’s become. I used to only be able to write when my desk was clean. When the pens were put away, notebooks were open to just the right page, and my coffee cup was positioned predictably to the left of my computer.

Now, though the coffee cup remains, everything else has fallen apart. Take a look:

I’ve got birthday invitations, earphones, and granola bar wrappers scattered behind my computer, Post-Its stuck to the screen and the wall behind my desk. Tissue and paper towels to the right. It’s a disaster. Hell, I’m a disaster.

Whoever said “Clutter frees the creative mind” just might’ve known what they were talking about because I can’t seem to write anywhere else but this messy ‘ole desk.

What does your workspace look like? Clean and tidy? Messy and cluttered?

 

 

 

About Kristin Miller

New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Kristin Miller writes sweet and sassy contemporary romance, romantic suspense, and paranormal romance of all varieties. Kristin has degrees in psychology, English, and education, and taught high school and middle school English before crossing over to a career in writing. She lives in Northern California with her alpha male husband and their two children. You can usually find her in the corner of a coffee shop, laptop in front of her and mocha in hand, using the guests around her as fuel for her next book. Facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorKristinMiller Twitter: www.twitter.com/kristinmiller02 Web: www.kristinmiller.net

Posted on May 31, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My workspace looks exactly like yours with an additonal cartoon taped to the wall. It’s of Snoopy receiving a rejection letter from a publisher saying that they are ‘returning his dumb story and not including their return adress because they’re moving and don’t want him to know where they went.” I also have a picture of Gerard Butler next to it for inspiration. 🙂

    • Yay for Snoopy! I don’t have anything comical on my desk, but I do have a small wooden box-frame that’s been painted wiith “Your story matters…tell it.” Every time I start to doubt this writing gig, I look up and pound out a few more pages.

Leave a Reply

