A Down and Dirty Hero

It’s raining here in the Pac NW – like crazy.  So, besides writing, we’ve taken in a few movies lately.  I just went to Snow White and the Huntsman, and I enjoyed it.  Okay, I really enjoyed watching Chris Hemsworth in down and dirty warrior mode.  And Charlize Theron was amazing as the villain.  There’s nothing I love more than a good villain—well, except for a down and dirty hero.  🙂

But I did get to thinking…how has this story survived for so long?  The original Snow White was a German fairy tale from the early 1800s!  And yet, it’s on the silver screen yet again.  Is it the symbolism?  The red of blood and the white purity of snow?  Or is it the everlasting theme of good vs. evil?  Or is it the hero/heroine’s quest?

Maybe it’s all of the above.  You have large themes, horrible consequences if things go wrong…and hope.  And, good wins over evil. 

I mean, really.  What more could we want?

About Rebecca Zanetti

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of paranormal, contemporary, and romantic suspense romances. Current series include: Dark Protectors, Sin Brothers, and Maverick Montana.

Posted on June 6, 2012, in Rebecca Zanetti and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. YUM, CHRIS!!! Really…I hear he carries the movie. I’m excited to see it. Maybe this weekend…..

  2. I definitely want to see this movie…mostly because of Chris, but also because I like the broodiness of it.Or at least that’s what it seems like in the trailers. And Charlize Theron is a wicked good actor. Okay and I want to see Chris swinging his sword *cough* 😉

  3. Oooh, loved this movie! I love anything dark and spooky and hadn’t really thought about the twist they used. And I LOVED Charlize Theron as the queen. She made that movie.

Leave a Reply

