Arizona Anyone?

Arizona Anyone?

I love readers’ conferences and a couple of weeks ago I got to attend a fantastic one. It’s called Arizona Dreamin’ and you can find out about next year here.

Image

 

This year was my second year (and the second year of the con). Next year will run two days to this year’s one and a bit, so I know there will be more activities, but I don’t know what they are. This year there was a meet-and-greet party, speed dating authors, a romance model contest, a dinner hosted by the authors, and my favorite… the bookclubs.

Each bookclub is hosted by an author, who spotlights their books over a half hour. Several bookclubs go on simultaneously and when I wasn’t hosting, I was attending. Authors get to plan what happens during their bookclub—games, a reading, giveaways. But that’s not all there is to it.  See, I’m a reader too, and I have been longer than I’ve been a writer. So to get together and gab about books in a really laid back setting was wonderful. It was intimate, hilarious, naughty, and I came away with tons of friends. In fact, after the last bookclub of the night, a bunch of us ran over to see Snow White and the Huntsman.

I owe a special thanks to Jessica Jordan, Karen McCoy, Heather Lire, and Melanie Sands for their wonderful support and help.  I’d had surgery the week before the con and was a little wobbly. They got me thru (propped me upright).  We gabbed too much, laughed a lot, and I can’t wait for next year.

Posted on June 13, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

