Fifty Shades of Confused

Let me start this post by saying I haven’t read Fifty Shades of Grey. I have a to-be-read pile that’d make your head spin. (Being unable to read while I write helps that stack grow to insurmountable heights.) BUT even if I didn’t have a bookshelf full of “unreads”, I don’t think I’d give the novels a shot. Let me tell ya why.

1-People either love them or hate them. My beta-reader called me one day screaming about these books. “Move them up in line!” she said. “Read them before the others I gave you!” (Those “others” would be The DaVinci Code and Nora Robert’s Chesapeake Bay seres.) Yet, when I went to spin class last night, the entire class was hashing over their hate of the books. To my surprise, they didn’t *not* like them because they were “smut” (which I was totally expecting), but because they felt like they were waiting for something “magical” to happen. They were waiting for the plot to wrench directions. They were waiting to be excited in something other than the sex scenes. And that waiting never paid off. Being a plot-driven writer and reader, I simply don’t think it’d be my cup of tea.

2-I didn’t care much for The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty written by Anne Rice as A.N. Roquelaure, when she ventured into BDSM and hard core erotica. (Aside: Have you seen what the Shades Trilogy has done for those books? They were off-the-grid until the release. As of right now they’re #75 in erotica on Amazon and holding strong.) Although I like the dynamic of a knowledgeable, powerful hero bedding an innocent, gentle heroine (and teaching her things she didn’t realize she’d enjoy), it didn’t pay off for me when Anne Rice ventured there and she’s a wicked storyteller!

3-It’s fanfiction of Twilight. While I’m all for anything that gets someone writing and furthering the creative process, I’m personally not a fan of reading books based on other books. Well, okay, I *might* give Harry Potter fanfiction a shot. But Twilight? A book that didn’t really get my goat in the first place? It rubs me all shades of wrong. Heh.

4-I’m not up on trends. Ever. I didn’t like Uggs until they were fading out of style. (I still wear mine every winter.) I tend to dislike music until it’s “old” and off the radio. Hell, I couldn’t appreciate Metallica until twenty years later. I didn’t read Twilight until some of the buzz died down. And instead of letting myself get carried away in all the hype, I tend to be cynical, looking for ways it doesn’t measure up to the standard I’ve built in my head. No, I like figuring things out for myself. I like making my own decision about something being cute, or smooth-sounding, or good reading.

I may read Fifty Shades eventually. I may pick it up years down the road when no one is talking about it anymore. (Hunger Games is still on my shelf, waiting to be picked up.) But for now, I’ll settle for reading my “must reads”. (I’ve got Monica McCarty’s The Saint and Lauren Kate’s Rapture on my lap, *waiting* to be devoured!)

What about you? Did you read the books? Did you love them? Go on. Tell me what I’m mising out. Convince me I should read them. Or are you like me, leaving Shades on the shelf until the dust accumulates and it’s too much to bear?

About Kristin Miller

New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Kristin Miller writes sweet and sassy contemporary romance, romantic suspense, and paranormal romance of all varieties. Kristin has degrees in psychology, English, and education, and taught high school and middle school English before crossing over to a career in writing. She lives in Northern California with her alpha male husband and their two children. You can usually find her in the corner of a coffee shop, laptop in front of her and mocha in hand, using the guests around her as fuel for her next book. Facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorKristinMiller Twitter: www.twitter.com/kristinmiller02 Web: www.kristinmiller.net

Posted on June 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have not actually read them yet. I added them to my pile because my sister read them and really liked them. A friend of mine is reading them now and has been raving about them. I am so up in the air about it though, I haven’t fully committed to reading them or not. Lol. I am afraid that I will be disappointed in them. I have read some BDSM (just started reading some more), which include Jaymie Holland and Kallypso Masters, and have more on my TBR. Oh, well…I guess I will figure it out eventually. I know, I was probably rambling. Sorry. 😉

  2. Ramble away! I did! 😉 I’m up in the air with you, and I figure if I’m up in the air about it, I’ve got a handful of books to read that I’m not up in the air about. I think I’ll read those first.
    If you do get to reading them though, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

  3. Have not read the books and don’t plan to read them. Like you I don’t like something that started out as “fanfiction” because my idea of a writer is that they get their own ideas and write their own stuff and don’t “borrow/steal/change” someone else’s writing. I have read bits and pieces as featured in several places and flat out can tell that the level of “writing” skill is just not up to my standard not to mention all of the editing issues that run prevalent throughout the book. Plus the author’s approach that the main characters like of “BDSM” was bad and the heroine had to break him of that …just doesn’t work for me.

  4. I haven’t read the books and have no interest in reading them!!!

Leave a Reply

