RWA National Conference Update

This week I’m at the national RWA conference in Anaheim, California. (Hop, skip and a jump from my backyard.) It’s only day two of the conference and I’ve already had such a great time.

I’ve gotten my hands on great freebies,including books, bookmarks and other swag from some of my favorite authors. I’ve attended a few workshops on how to evoke emotion from readers and learned from the best in the biz. I’ve given away books and even had my first signing event with the proceeds going to ProLiteracy Worldwide.

This is my fourth RWA conference, and each year I take away so much valuable information about the market, trends, how the industry is changing, how to write effectively and hone your craft, etc.  But all of those things combined–the books, swag, excitement over the signing, and learning from the best–couldn’t beat my favorite part: the friends I’ve made.

I’ve made friends from Canada, Phoenix, Texas, New York, Maryland, Seattle, to name a few. I talk to everyone. I smile constantly. I try to hide my nerves and absorb as much as I can. Because in a few short days, the conference will be over and I’ll be left staring at my computer screen again. Some of the friends have been quiet, shy even, while others have been loud and boisterous, making me giggle until my cheeks hurt.

While I’d love to post pictures today, I’m sucking wi-fi off the conference lobby and it’s slow as heck. So I’ll leave you with a single picture. One of me and my best friend Bo. He sure was cute…

About Kristin Miller

New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Kristin Miller writes sweet and sassy contemporary romance, romantic suspense, and paranormal romance of all varieties. Kristin has degrees in psychology, English, and education, and taught high school and middle school English before crossing over to a career in writing. She lives in Northern California with her alpha male husband and their two children. You can usually find her in the corner of a coffee shop, laptop in front of her and mocha in hand, using the guests around her as fuel for her next book. Facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorKristinMiller Twitter: www.twitter.com/kristinmiller02 Web: www.kristinmiller.net

Posted on July 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Am I misunderstanding? I can’t see a picture and I so wanted to see.

Leave a Reply

