Anya Richards Tells All (kinda)

Hi everyone!

Happy Thanksgiving Day to our Canadian visitors and welcome all to Darker Temptations, where we hope to whet your appetite for everything paranormal, fantasy and SciFi, with a little horror and other bump-in-the-night stuff—not all necessarily horrific—thrown in for good measure.

I’m your host for today, Anya Richards, sometimes a.k.a Anya Delvay—erotic romance/erotica author, tea addict and lazy-at-heart workaholic. Born in the tropics, I now live in Ontario, Canada, and often have to remind myself there was a REALLY GOOD REASON for coming north, although during snowy, frigid months I can’t honestly remember what it was!

I’m married (oh yeah…that was the reason I moved here!) with three children, only one still living at home. We share space with two cats, one of which dances on the back of the couch to gain my attention, while the other looks on in arrogant disdain. The most recent addition to the family is Sable, a puppy of mixed and questionable ancestry, whose street name is Beansie, a moniker that suits her to a “T”.

Being insatiably curious I have a head full of (mostly) useless trivia. I say ‘mostly’ because no one ever knows which piece of esoteric info will spark a visit from the Plot Monkeys, or when I’ll need to heartily kick some trivia competition butt. Along with writing my other loves include crafting, reading (of course!), history, cooking (well, I love eating more, but that’s another story), animals, and too much other stuff to mention. I’m a mental gadfly, and that’s all there is to it.

Some days I feel and act as though I’m still in my teens or early twenties, other days I’m resigned to being a femme d’un certain age, but without the connotation of being chicly French and available to initiate young studs into the ways of sex, unfortunately—on both counts. *wink* I’ve said for years I can’t wait to be a dirty old lady, pinching waiters’ tight butts and going up to strange men and telling them how handsome they are. I’m not yet at the age where it would be cute…but one day it will be, and I’ll be all over that like a cheap suit.

My erotic romance writing subgenres of choice pretty much run the gamut but recently I’ve been on a serious fantasy/paranormal kick, and I’m loving it so much it makes me wonder why I hadn’t done it before. Actually, the very first novel I ever wrote, now gathering dust under the bed, was a historical/fantasy/paranormal mash-up, so I guess the truth is I’ve really gone back to my roots. But with a LOT more sex involved.

The first of my ventures into the world of ‘otherwhere’ published was Awaken, in the Samhain Publishing Enchanted Anthology, then came Rescue My Heart, a Steampunk short in the Steamlust anthology from Cleis Press. Beyond Prudence, a Steampunk romp came next and was a ARe recommended read, called “an awesome and amazing visualization of steampunk erotica” by the reviewer.

Suddenly there was no stopping the flood of paranormal/fantasy themed stories popping into my head, and my love affair with men-with-a-twist was born. Since then I’ve had three more paranormal/fantasy themed books published, Arctic Destiny, with a reluctant polar bear shifter, Fleeing Fate, featuring a West African storm god and a banshee, and Stone-Hard Passion where a jinn seduces her troll client. On October 16th my short, Minions Have Needs Too, will be released in the Cleis Press anthology, Seductress: Erotic Tales of Immortal Desire. Watch out for a few more, already in production!

In honor of this re-launch of Darker Temptations, I’m offering a copy of Arctic Destiny to one lucky commenter, and if you also Tweet a link to this post and include my Twitter handle @AnyaRwrites I’ll enter your name for another drawing for a copy of Fleeing Fate too!

Thanks for stopping by!

Anya

Journeys Through Seduction

Anya Richards/Anya Delvay books available from Samhain Publishing, Ellora’s Cave, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Chapters Indigo.

About anyarichards

Romantic, pragmatist, everyday feminist with a million characters in her head clamoring to have their stories told :)

Posted on October 8, 2012, in Anya Richards and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Hi Anya!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    I live in Ontario, Canada too! (I commute between cottage country near Haliburton and Oshawa)

    Your books sound intriguing and your website is so pretty.

    Hugs!
    jan

    • Jan! Somehow I missed your comment earlier! I love cottage country, even though I’ve only ever just driven through. Thank you so much for liking my website…I think my webmistress Rae Monet just rocks.

  2. Anya, welcome to the blog! I’ve been telling everyone for years that I’m a dirty old lady in the making. It’ll take me time to perfect my moves, but once I’m of the proper age, watch out!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving, Anya. Lol. I hear you about the snowy north. I loved Stone Hard Passion, such a wonderful story;).

  4. So nice to see you here and blogging. I can’t wait to read your other ‘in production’ stories 😉 Polar bear shifter sounds wonderfully dangerous.

  5. Happy Thanksgiving my Canadian friends. Anya, your books sound fantastic. I put them on my wishlist.

  6. I want to be a dirty old lady also! My mom was one and had a lot of fun at it! LOL! Going places was never boring with my mom around. We always met some interesting people (men!) that way!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

  7. Glad to be sharing a blog with you Anya. I sure know what you mean about living in that no set age zone–feeling too young to let it all hang out but too old to start pinching buts no matter how tempting. Fun post.

  8. Hi Anya,
    I have read several of your books , and I’m looking forward to the newest one !
    Will there be any ménage storylines coming out?
    Thanks
    Beccal

    • Hi Becca, thanks so much for stopping by! Shhh…don’t tell anyone, but one of the stories I’m working on is a menage…but it has to wait it’s turn. There are a couple in front of it!

  9. I really enjoy your stories. And I LOVE Canada, being a Washington State native. I make more than my fair share of trips to Vancouver and Whistler (my fav. place of all time). 🙂
    Jacki

    • Thank you so much, Jacki! I’ve been trying to make a trip to the West coast since I came to Canada, but haven’t had the chance yet. My grand-aunt lived in Vancouver for years and my parents always said they’d love to live there too.

  10. My good friend Amy Ruttan made a trip out to Alberta this year for her sister-in-law’s wedding, and the pictures were amazing! I wanna go too!!!

  11. Hi Anya – Happy Thanksgiving and congratulations on the relaunch of Darker Temptations

  12. Geez Anya. I feel lazy. Congrats on the blog and it sounds like you’ve carved out a pretty good life for yourself! I’m in the Western NY area, also not known for its warm temps. 😉

    • LOL Don’t feel that way because of me!!! I’m no ball of fire (unless I’m having a hot flash ROFL!)

      I used to tell people my main ambition in life was to own a nice house down in Palm Beach, Florida with a pool. I’ll invite all my friends from Canada to visit for Christmas and we’ll sit around the pool singing, “Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow” and laugh like loons!

Leave a Reply

