Winners and Villains

I know I’m a little late. I have a perfectly good reason for it too. I was flying home from RomantiCon and then had to regale everyone with pictures and stories. Don’t worry, you can learn about what happened at the convention over at my personal blog, Unearthly Musings.

But today isn’t all about me. You want to know if you’ve won anything in the awesome giveaway we’ve held the last couple of weeks. Well, here goes…

Lindsey E has won the swag pack from me.

Junegirl won the prize from Sabrina.

Tina B. won Denise’s prize.

Lyndsay Avalon won Marcella’s goodies.

June M won the prize from Regina.

Vanessa N. and Joanne B won Virginia’s prizes.

Suzlyne won Anya’s goodies.

Urb won Leta and Keira’s gifts.

Teresa won Viki and Jan’s prizes.

Linda Larsson won Tina’s prize.

Congrats, y’all! The bloggers should be contacting you via the email addresses you provided to get information for your prizes. Don’t worry, this isn’t the last giveaway we’ll ever have. I’m pretty sure we’ll be throwing out prizes left and right.

So now for the meat of the post. We already talked winners, but what about sinners? Or rather villains? I love a good villain, the guy who everyone can’t help but hate, yet find strangely compelling at the same time.

I have a couple of villains that just work for me. Riddick from Pitch Black is awesome in my opinion. He’s a bad guy. He knows it. You know it. Everyone knows how kick ass he is. And yet, you can’t help but think how perfect he is for the environment the stranded people find themselves in. He becomes the most unlikely hero because of his villainous past and tendencies. Yes I’m aware he’s more of an anti-hero, but he does it for me. And not just because he’s seriously stacked.

The other villain that always gets my goat is Hannibal Lector from Silence of the Lambs. He’s lethal. He’s intelligent. He’s even snarky and amusing at times, but you can never forget he’s downright creepy. There’s a part of me that finds him the scariest character in any movie, probably because he doesn’t seem to move very fast or act in haste. Everything is so well thought out and he leaves no room for mistakes. You just know he could skin you alive in a thrice and not think anything of it.

I’ll never be able to hear the phrase quid pro quo without thinking of him immediately.

Have you seen these two movies? What do you think of these villains?

About danicaavet

Danica Avet lives and writes in the wilds of South Louisiana. Unmarried with no children, she's the proud pet of two cats and a dog. With a BA in History, she decided there were enough fry cooks in the world and tried her hand at writing. Danica loves losing herself in the antics of her characters and blushes more often than not at the things they do. She likes to define her work as paranormal romance with a touch of Cajun spice, but most times her characters turn the notch up to "five-alarm fire"!

Posted on October 15, 2012, in Danica Avet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Congratulations to all the winners! 🙂

    Anica, I haven’t seen either movie…but I’ve heard of this Hannibal character…he’s creepy!

    Gonna head over to your blog to see how it went at Romanticon!

    Hugs,
    jan

  2. Congratulations winners. I have seen Silence of the Lambs and no question Hannibal Lecture is up there with the creepiest and best crafted of villains. He leads Clarice down a merry path. I have not seen Riddick but now I have to.

  3. I’ve seen both of these movies, and I agree whole-heartedly….both characters are superb.

  4. I’ve seen both movies and both Riddick and Hannibal are two of my favorite villians.

  5. Seen both movies Riddick is fantastic and Hannibal well he totally scares the pee out of me lol.

    flanagan@mebtel.net

    • Hannibal is a scary sucker because he’s all so calm about it. I think that’s the scariest thing about the Halloween movies. Michael doesn’t run after you. He walks…like he has all the time in the world.

Leave a Reply

