Palpatine and Palpitations

I know we’re supposed to blog about villains this week, but damn, is my head in a whole ‘nother world.
I spent the most glorious four days in Canton, Ohio, at Romanticon last weekend. Can you tell I had fun?!?

This was POSED. For a mock romance novel book cover. I didn’t pick the pose!! (But I’m not going to tell you I didn’t enjoy it!)

But life must go on, the blog must go on, and oddly enough, so do the villains.

When I put my brain on the mission to discover the villain I loved to hate the most, I was stumped for a while. The villains aren’t the characters that I think about in my favorite books and movies. I’m way to interested in the hero and heroine, and getting them together in hopefully naughty positions. I’m a little sick like that. 😉

But then it came to me. The creepiest-looking, most evil, power hungry guy I could think of. I have always despised him, and he creeps me out to this day.

Emperor Palpatine from the GOOD Star Wars movies.

There are three things that strike me about him, and they’re what I think makes a great villain that I love to hate.

1. His appearance. Have you SEEN wrinkle-bag? Holy shit, he’s terrifying. Saggy McRedEyes gives me nightmares when he smiles. Add to that the creepy cult-like robes and cackling evil laugh, and you’ve got a recipe for terror before he does a damn thing.
2. His power. His command of the force is brutal, so much so that the hero, Luke, can’t overcome Palpatine’s strength without help from Vader. This guy is in charge for a reason. He can kick EVERYONE’s ass. And without a villain who’s stronger than the hero, you don’t have much of a story.
3. His insidiousness. He knows Luke’s weaknesses, and doesn’t hesitate to attack them. He threatens Luke’s friends, offers him power and their lives, all to add Luke to his arsenal. He’s driven, he has no limits, and he’ll stop at nothing to extend his control over the universe. (Hello, Death Star anyone?)

A story is only as good as its villain. Would Star Wars be the same without Palpatine? No way. Because even though Vader is the one you immediately think of when you picture Star Wars (I don’t count those three abominations that have come out so recently. *shudders*) Vader wouldn’t be Vader without Palpatine. Think about it. This guy freaking CREATED DARTH FUCKING VADER.

How much scarier than you get?

What do you think of Palpatine? Do you love to hate him too?
(Just don’t mention those prequels to me. They make me slightly sick. I’m a purist, what can I say.)

About reginacole

Regina Cole, lover of manly muscled arms, chest hair, and mini-marshmallows, has been reading romance since her early teens. While she loves a love story of any heat level, she’s been drawn to the erotic side, and is loving every minute. When she’s not frantically pounding away at the keyboard, she can be found fishing with her family, playing with her dogs, trying out strange new recipes, or snuggling with her hubby.

Posted on October 19, 2012, in Regina Cole and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Gah, yes! What a total bastard! And scary. Definitely scary looking because you know you’ve seen a guy who looks like thsi late at night when you’re walking around the French Quarter trying to remember where you parked your car…ahem. Yes, he’s frightening 😉

  2. Not sure which photo I like best. Palpatine’s the force behind the force if you will. I do love to hate him. My only regret is that he is so much better developed in SW I through III which I really didn’t like and not the originals which I still watch.

Leave a Reply

