The Enemy of Old

So I wasn’t sure who to write about when it came to dark heroes. There are so many great ones in movies and books. I thought about blogging about Constantine. You know, Keanu reeves’ character in the movie with the same name? Love it. He’s a dark, dangerous hero who walks a very thin line.

But when I gave it some more thought, there was only one man I could write about is Lothaire. If you’re not a Kresley Cole fan, what in the world is wrong with you? Just kidding. I’m actually not kidding. You should read all of her books.

Anyway, the Immortals After Dark series is one I’ve been enjoying over and over again for years. Each time  new one is announced, I gnaw on my fingernails and wonder who’s this one going to be about? How can she possibly surpass the other books she’s written in the series?

At the beginning of the year, she managed to blow me out of the water. Because Kresley Cole wrote about the one character I was positive she couldn’t make a redeemable hero. Lothaire. The Enemy of Old. Yes. Enemy of OLD. As in he’s been around so long he has enemies from every faction. He’s also a little…batty. Okay, he’s quite possibly very batty. And yet she made him someone I actually liked.

He has an End Game he plans to follow and uses a stubborn, spunky girl possessed by the demon he believes is his Bride to get there. Oh the vampire is horrible to her. Horrible! But oh so sexy at the same time. Is that wrong of me to admit? That I liked how he got her all hot and bothered in one breath and then was like “you’re not really the one I want” in the next? Because it made me hate him and I did love to hate him.

Yet for all of his arrogance and superiority, he’s a seriously screwed up guy. And that’s what makes me like him. He’s skating the edge of evil, but manages to do the right thing in the end, even if it goes against everything he thought he believed in. *sigh*

So that’s my favorite dark hero. Gotta love that vampire! Especially if he looks like this:

 

About danicaavet

Danica Avet lives and writes in the wilds of South Louisiana. Unmarried with no children, she's the proud pet of two cats and a dog. With a BA in History, she decided there were enough fry cooks in the world and tried her hand at writing. Danica loves losing herself in the antics of her characters and blushes more often than not at the things they do. She likes to define her work as paranormal romance with a touch of Cajun spice, but most times her characters turn the notch up to "five-alarm fire"!

Posted on November 12, 2012, in Danica Avet and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It took me a while to warm to Kresley Cole, but once I started the series and worked my way past the first book (had to read it twice…about 18 months apart), I was hooked. It’s such a great series. And I’m with you. Lothaire’s psychotically hot. LOL Um, the cover picture doesn’t do him justice, though. Your pic’s much closer to how I see him.

    Loved the blog!
    Denise

Leave a Reply

