Amy Ruttan’s favorite Dark Hero

Today I’m handing over to my awesome friend and critique partner Amy Ruttan, who’s talking about one of her favorite dark heroes. Take it away, Amy!

I want to thank Anya Richards, my awesome CP, for having me here. I was invited, I was told. You have to do a blog post on Darker Temptations about a dark hero; it doesn’t have to be a hero from a book either.

Being the *good* little girl I am I said “Okay” just like Guido from that movie Cars.

I love dark heroes. There’s just something about them that excites me. They’re not that stereotypical bad guy, which I don’t like. There’s a certain mystery about dark heroes. What made them so dark?

When I was going through some of my favourite dark heroes *Zsadist* I knew I had to do the first dark hero I ever fell in love with.

The Phantom of the Opera.

I’ve heard a lot of naysaying about him, like “He’s a crazy sadistic, stalker, murderer dude.”

Okay, sure, but he’s a broken soul. Scarred and unloved. All he loves is Christine Daae.

The moment the Phantom walked out onto the stage back in 1992 when I first saw it, in Toronto at the Pantages theatre with Colm Wilkinson I fell head over heels in love. I hate Raoul. Still hate that pretty boy to be honest.

And at the end of the opera, when she leaves him for Raoul, but come back one final time to kiss him *fans self* swoon. My husband knows if he wants to get me in the mood fast he just has to put on the Phantom with Gerard Butler.

*ahem* Sorry I know, TMI.

Gerard didn’t have the voice range that Colm did, but DAYUM, even with half his face horrifically scarred he is mighty fine. That scene from Past the Point of No Return gets me hot under the collar all the time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&v=xeNnSm4uzGA&NR=1

I wanted to know more about the Phantom. Where did he come from? What happened to his face? This is why I’m so fascinated and attracted to him. What made him the way he is and how can I heal him? 😉

Not much is known about the Phantom at all, other than his name is Erik and a few snippets from this song:

This face, which earned a mother’s fear and loathing…

A mask, my first unfeeling scrap of clothing…

 Even though Christine left the Phantom, his love for her remained true. He left her alone, but watched from afar. True to her, even though rich annoying pretty boy got her, he remained faithful even placing the rose on her grave years later.

The musical made such an impression on me, I was 14 at the time, I wrote copious amounts of fan fiction and would act out the musical in my room, alone, singing to the tape I bought from the souvenir stand.

It also helped fan the flames of my burgeoning romance writing career. No I don’t write about stalker/murders with half melted faces …but I’ve been tempted! >:)

It’s safe to say that The Phantom is my first ever dark romance hero.

Who’s yours?

Eternal Passion, Timeless Romance

Amy Ruttan books available from Ellora’s Cave, Amazon, All Romance E-Books, and other venues where quality e-books are sold.

About anyarichards

Romantic, pragmatist, everyday feminist with a million characters in her head clamoring to have their stories told :)

Posted on November 19, 2012, in Anya Richards, guest post and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It’s safe to say that The Phantom is my first ever dark romance hero. Who’s yours?

    You know, I think I was late to the dark romance hero thing. As a kid, I was always more into the good guy. In the Luke/Leia/Han dynamic, I was all Team Luke until he [spoiler alert for those who have been living under a rock for the last forever] turned out to be her brother. I was pretty disappointed by that development.

    I think my first brush with falling head over heels with the anti-hero was Lex Luthor in Smallville. He was so wounded and tried so hard to be good in all the ways he knew how, and he failed so spectacularly at it every time. Oh, Lex! My heart will always belong, in part, to you!

    Anyway, The Phantom of the Opera. I hadn’t even considered him. Good pick. And I love that you acted out the musical in your room. I used to do that kind of thing, too. 🙂 Okay, fine, sometimes I still do!

  2. LOL! I still do too, Lea and my 9 year old daughter just shakes her head at the folly of her mother. I was always team Han, but when Luke started wearing the black in Return of the Jedi and was fighting the dark side, he was pretty dang hot!

    Villains kind of intrigue me. They’re so interesting. You can’t help but wonder what made them that way.

    Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

