Holy Dark Hero, Batman!

batman

batman by Strudel!, on Flickr

I had a difficult time coming up with a dark hero I could root for…then it hit me. I love DC comics and have hundreds of issues stacked in my closet. My favorite hero is Batman and he’s dark, very, very dark. I’m not talking about the campy TV version of the ’60’s -“Holy Cow, Batman!”- but the Dark Knight version – the conflicted, angst-filled Batman created by Frank Miller in the 80’s.

Batman is human; a superhero in a bat suit and cape, who doesn’t have Superman powers. He wasn’t transformed into a superhero by some gamma ray or bitten by a poisonous spider. He can’t fly or bend steel, but he has brains, relies on his wits, killer pecs and can fight like hell. He has all sorts of cool boy toys because the dude is rich – who wouldn’t like to do it in the back seat of the bat mobile?

Batman: The Dark Knight

Batman: The Dark Knight by lamazone, on Flickr

The man is driven. An adrenalin rush junkie for one. And revenge burns in his heart, witnessing his parents gunned down when he was a boy. He is relentless in guarding Gotham City from deadbeats and super villains. Relationships, forget it, he isn’t emotionally available. He’s conceited, demands his way or the highway, cold as a frozen tundra and a loner who hides out in his mansion with his butler Alfred and his sidekick, Robin. (I see a m/m romance brewing in a mansion with only men – LOL)

When meeting up with Batman, any sane woman would turn and run fast as her spiked heels would take her. But only after she’d spent one night in the back seat of his bat mobile!

Happy Reading! Viki

http://www.vikilyn.com
http://www.vikilyn.com/blog
http://www.facebook.com/VikiLynRomance
http://www.twitter.com/VikiLynRomance


Viki Lyn: Award winning author of male/male paranormal and contemporary romances. You can find all of Viki’s books at the following sites: Amazon, All Romance Ebooks and GLBT Bookshelf.

Posted on November 22, 2012, in Viki Lyn and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oh! I never thought about the m/m possibilities in Batman’s mansion! That could be an interesting story!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

    • Haha! I’m amused that your brain never went there! 🙂 In fact, homosexual interpretations of Batman are as old as the characters themselves.

      As very small child, Batman and Robin were my absolute favorite characters. I pretended it every day, mostly that I was Robin and Batman really, really, really, really adored me and wanted to protect me and loved me most of all. *cough* And I was outrageously jealous of Batman’s supposed love for Catwoman. Given that I grew up to pretty much ship a ton of m/m characters and I enjoy writing m/m romances, this all makes so much sense to me now! LOL!

      Great post, Viki! Loved it! 🙂

  2. Batman is a great choice. Easy to love, perfect fantasy, hard to connect to. Happy Thanksgiving.

  3. Suz – I have a warped mind but yes, I fantasize about Batman and Robin – but Robin who is now an older (of age!) and most handsome Nightwing!

  4. Leta, the Wiki site is very interesting. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

