Dark Heroine of Lover Mine: Xhex

As is my norm, I’m beginning this post with a little MAN candy for all you MANhandlers out there. Someday I’m going to write a post that simply takes all my delicious photos, posts them in one entry and takes a poll to find out who you all like most. Until then, feast your lovely eyes to the left.

This blog post was remarkably hard to write. The dark heroine I wanted to write is one I can’t discuss because her story line was truly just revealed in a recent release. If you read what I wanted to talk about, it would have ruined it. So who to write about? I tossed characters around in my head until BAM! This particular woman knocked me to my knees for my stupidity. Who is she? Xhex from JR Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood (BDB). Now, yes, I did actually write about another BDB character earlier, but this is different, I assure you. And yes, I am slightly obsessed with the BDB. Moving along…

Xhex is a kick-ass heroine who features in the books from almost the beginning of the series. An empath, she experiences others’ emotions and essentially feeds off of/gets her thrills from them. Suppressing her nature is something she struggles with, not unlike a drug addict might struggle with managing the craving for his next hit. To complicate things, Xhex works in a bar where emotions (particularly violence and lust) run rampant. Her job essentially provides her a nightly smorgasbord of emotions to feast on. It would be like putting a diabetic with a sweet tooth in front of a dessert buffet with all his favorites night after night. Eventually, something’s going to give.

Xhex is a complex character who has a variety of layers. This is the most appealing thing about dark heroes and heroines for me. They aren’t born to lead or save the damsel (or knight) in distress, and they are chock full of prickly characteristics–some hard to take and some flat out impossible to accept. But in there, inside that hard character, is a person waiting for redemption.

I often find it easier to relate to darker heroes and heroines because of their flaws. The perfect character is, to me, difficult to buy in to. She feels false, poorly fabricated even, and it makes it very difficult for me to slip into her shoes and walk that proverbial mile. But give me a heroine who can’t change the fact she has commitment issues due to a dark past or is unable to accept affection because she doesn’t feel worthy and you’ve usually grabbed my brain and dragged it into your story.

How do writers create characters like these? It’s not easy. These characters can, and often do, require a more complex, layered back story that gives the author both breadth and depth of flaws and emotions to draw from. It takes a plausible back story for the reader to accept the character as presented. The character has to have flaws and emotions delivered in a way that leaves the reader not only rooting for redemption, but also believing it’s possible. I know my anti-heroes and heroines have been the most challenging, and most fun, to write. Time will tell if I’ve done them justice.

So what about you? Who’s your ultimate anti-heroine? I could use some suggestions that can be used for character studies. She can be from literature, movies, television–your choice. I can’t wait to get your recommendations!

Posted on November 28, 2012, in Denise Tompkins, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. One of my favorite heroines would be Cat Crawfield, from Jeaniene Frost “Night Huntress Series” For those of you that have not read this series…… well you need to get started on it, because it is awesome!!!
    Happy reading and writing*
    Teresa
    morris1963tess@yahoo.com

    • Ooooh! I love Cat! You definitely hit on one of my favorite characters (and in one of my favorite series). I really enjoy the hero/heroine dynamic between Cat and Bones, and Cat’s strength is awesome. And you’re right–if readers haven’t read the series, grab it ASAP. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by, Teresa.
      Denise

  2. Xhex is my favorite Ward heroine. She is so well written. The relationship between her and John rocks. Great post.

    • Thanks, Sabrina! I love the way she’s so tough, almost entirely unapproachable, and yet John refuses to give up. He’s such a counterbalance to her character. And I love that Ward takes a character I could see as redeemable and makes her fall in love in a plausible way. Such a great story.

      Thanks for stopping by,
      Denise

  3. I can’t think of any at the moment. I, too, love those darker characters. πŸ™‚
    And that was some delicious man candy! Thank you.
    I have not read BDB yet, but have them on my TBR.

  4. I think I’m going to end up buying a lot of books because of the posts you guys write! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

