What are you doing New Year’s Eve?

So I’m REALLY late blogging today because I didn’t go to bed until 3am. With today being New Year’s Eve you’d be forgiven for thinking I was out partying, but it sounds a hell of a lot more exciting than it really was, since I was up desperately trying to finish writing a book! In years gone by I definitely would have been out whooping it up, since back home the month of December, from beginning to end, is one big party. House parties, parties in nightclubs, street parties, you name it, Jamaicans are there, dancing, drinking, eating and generally having a wild time.

New Year’s Eve is the time when everyone pulls out the fanciest dress or suit and really gets their groove on. A good friend of my brother used to have THE party of the night to go to, and I still have fond memories of dancing, flirting and drinking the night away. We’d have breakfast there at about 7am on New Year’s Day and then going home to change into swimsuits and head to the beach. Fried fish and “festival” (a fried bread made from flour and cornmeal), Red Stripe Beer and chilly dips in the rough January sea followed until, exhausted, we’d head home at about 3pm. Sometimes, after crashing for a few hours, we’d head out again. Sometimes, if we’d really tied one on, we’d wake up and realize it was actually January 2nd.

Unfortunately, as an uncle of mine used to say, “What used to was cannot are.” (Think about that for a moment. No, I don’t mind… *crickets*) Now, with work, family, all the various responsibilities of life, days like that are just a fond memory. No doubt if I were still back home I’d be a lot more frisky than I am now. It’s different for me when going out involves not only venue and time but how many layers of clothing I have to wear! No one looks or feels sexy in long underwear, LOL!

Yet, I still love the turning of the year, the sensation of the unknown just around the corner, a fresh, clean slate to scribble all over. I know realistically I could wake up every morning and feel the same way—after all, what’s the difference between, say March 31st –April 1st and December 31st –January 1st?—but there’s definitely a sensation of anticipation attached to the beginning of the year.

So, in the spirit of that anticipation and with 2013 just hours away, here’s to us all, to health, happiness, love and romance, to peace, prosperity and dreams coming true. From me to you, stay safe, have fun and ring in the New Year in whichever style you love best!

See you all in 2013!

Oh, and Moe sends flowers LOL!

015

About anyarichards

Romantic, pragmatist, everyday feminist with a million characters in her head clamoring to have their stories told :)

Posted on December 31, 2012, in Anya Richards and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well I am not the partying type anymore 🙂 So I will be bringing in the New Year with a good book.
    Happy reading and writing*
    Teresa
    morris1963tess@yahoo.com

  2. Thanks Teresa! There’s a lot to be said with curling up with a good book and getting our excitement that way. Enjoy, and have a great 2013!

Leave a Reply

