Zombie Apocalypse? Prepared? Of course not, but I know a few tricks….

zombiesI looked at the topic for this post, scratched my head, chewed my lip for awhile. I’ve got nothing.  Who the f… is prepared for a zombie apocalypse? I’m weeks behind with laundry and have dirty dishes in the sink.  Let’s face it, I’m not going to survive  an urban dystopia with a few extra bottles of water, a camping stove, canned goods, a flashlight,  batteries and some duct tape if I even had any of that.

I am missing some really key things.  No guns, no real knives except those dull things on my kitchen counter that barely chop vegetables.  I quit studying Tae Kwon Doo at the green belt level oh so many years ago that I couldn’t even pretend to have muscle memory–muscle dementia more like it.  I haven’t run any races for a decade and even then I was not that good–my only goal to finish, no matter how long it took.  Lets face it–I don’t have weapons or know how to use any that might be of any help.

Is it hopeless? Yes, you say.  You may be right but there are I few things that I do have that may change the odds (or I could be kidding myself).  The sheer unadultered truth is that you can”t really prepare for an apocalypse–its not like a dance recital or a test.  Darwin was pretty clear on this–survivors aren’t the strongest, but the most adaptable. And adaptability I’ve got in spades.

swiss army knifeTo survive, I’d rely on creativity and resourcefulness.  Use frying pans, screwdrivers and wooden bookshelves, I could devise make shift weapons.   I may be out of shape but I don’t have a death wish and hard wood is hard wood whether its in the shape of a bat or a shelf.  I’ve always had a swiss army knife on hand cause you can  do just about anything with those things.

Throw a little chaos at me and I rise to the challenge. I’ll be the one making plans for those with the guns and knives to implement.  I will do what I have to do to survive–now that’s a pretty useful attitude when its me versus the zombie. I may not know what I need, but I’m not bad at figuring out things to do with what’s around.  I have a spoon and I’m willing to use it.  Eye anyone?96px-Macgyver

Just in case you want to know,  if I could choose one person who I wanted with me to battle zombies and survive the unknown, there is only one choice–Angus MacGyver, the most resourceful hero ever to grace the small screen. Over there,  isn’t he lovely?

What tricks do you have to survive? Who would you want along for the ride?

Sabrina Garie is on a journey to create the most kick-ass heroine in romance fiction. You can meet the first heroine in Fires of Justice at Elloras Cave, Amazon, and Barnes and Noble.

About Sabrina Garie

Writer, reader, explorer, chauffeur (oops, I meant mom)

Posted on February 5, 2013, in Sabrina Garie and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. MacGuyver. Definitely! I’m more than willing to do any shooting so he can take care of all the other details!

  2. Reblogged this on Sabrina Garie and commented:

    I am over at Darker Temptations today talking about how to survive the Zombie Apocalypse and who I’d want by my side to do it. I’ll give you a hint–one trick is resourcefulness. Its amazing what you can do with just a swiss army knife, don’t you think?

  3. I love Mcgyver! Also, I’d take Steven Seagal’s character from the movie “Under Seige” Casey Ryback, who was a retired Navy seal that was a cook. When shit hit the fan he not only kicked but with martial arts but also made bombs with the microwave and weapons galore with the kitchen things.–of course, I hear that Steven’s brand of Martial arts is pretty deadly–so maybe just Mr. Seagal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

