Would I Survive? Maybe…

Would I survive a Zombie Apocalypse? The short answer is, “No.”

From the first news reports, the first pictures on the TV, I would have a heart attack and die in self-defense.

True word…

It would be the same if I were swimming and saw a shark coming toward me. If I’m going to die, I’m doing it on my own terms, dammit!

If, however, that didn’t happen, I just might survive because of a couple of my other personality traits and some life experiences.

Firstly, I’m cautious. If the zombies haven’t reached town yet, I’m the first one taking off. Why wait? Also, if they’re already shuffling down the street I’m not the person who, like in the movies, wants to go outside and “see what’s going on,” or the scoffer who says, “nothing’s going to happen,” or the idjit who just has to have a _____________ (fill in the blank with diet pop, pack of cigarettes, whatever). Nopers. I’m the one who, after barricading herself into the house, is standing in the kitchen wondering how long she can last on the food she has. Starvation, I think, is better than feeding the f**kers my brains! And who knows? Maybe someone will find a cure before the food runs out.

The second trait on my side? I’m wily and quick to move when the effluvium hits the oscillating blades. I’m making decisions and doing stuff, not waiting around to “see how things go.” Is there a handy gun shop or army base? I’m busting in and arming myself (hopefully my dear hubby hasn’t been turned yet and will show me which ammo goes with that AK47, because I just may have to take it all and sort it out after I hole up somewhere). I’m finding a bolt hole, securing it, getting some gasoline and whatever else I think I’ll need, which leads to the life experience that will be helpful…

I grew up in a (as they’re euphemistically called) “Developing Country.” Even better, it’s one that quite often gets threatened and hit by hurricanes. I know what a true essential is and what’s just a silly flight of fancy you’re probably not going to need. I’m also low maintenance. I won’t be the woman lugging a makeup case while tottering around in high heels. Uh-uh. I’m the one in the hiking boots with the knapsack, carrying a big-ass gun, bandoliers over her shoulders, running as fast as a short, no-longer-young woman can move. And, believe me, when I have to, that’s pretty damn fast.

Lastly, I might make it because, deep down inside, I believe in humanity and our ability to survive if we just band together and be smart. I’m finding the winning team and joining it, or forming it if I have to. Band with me, and we’ll try to get through it together.

Just don’t get stupid, because I’m not saving you. That’s not in the survival plan!

Journeys Through Seduction

Anya Richards/Anya Delvay books available from Samhain Publishing, Ellora’s Cave, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Chapters Indigo.

About anyarichards

Romantic, pragmatist, everyday feminist with a million characters in her head clamoring to have their stories told :)

Posted on February 11, 2013, in Anya Richards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Lol, I am with you every step of the way. Cautious and wily sounds like good ground rules and I do have some hiking boots somewhere…

Leave a Reply

