Best Original Song

I’m not much of a movie-goer. I always seem to watch movies when they finally make it to television. In 2012, I think I went to the movies once and that was because there was no way I could miss watching a piece of my childhood brought to life again. When I realized this post was about the Oscars…I had to actually look up the movies I’ve seen recently to see if they were nominated. I figured they weren’t. 

The only film I could think of that won anything was The Black Swan which I finally saw over Thanksgiving…and that didn’t win an Oscar, right? *googles it* It won an Academy Award, not the Oscars. *shrug* I don’t watch the Oscarls, the Golden Globes, the Academy Awards, MTV Music Awards or anything like that because none of the people/groups I want to win ever do. *mutters*

But this time, oh this time something I really loved won. This goes back to my childhood coming back to entertain me.

My sister and I wrangled her youngest son (a 21-year-old) into watch The Muppets with us. For us, The Muppets couldn’t have been anything but wonderful. From the opening song to the credits we snorted, giggled and guffawed our way through the movie. Yes, children were turning to stare at us, but we didn’t care. Their parents and grandparents enjoyed the movie. And wasn’t that the way things were? The Muppets were hilarious whether it was on their show or in movies. And for me, for my sister, it was. My nephew, who probably never saw any of the Muppets movies, spent the entire film laughing at me and my sister.

Until this song came on:

 This song brought the three of us together in a giggling, snorting mess.

Even now, a year and a half later, I’ll get a random text message from my nephew saying “Am I man or a Muppet? Cause if I’m a Muppet, I’m a very manly Muppet.” Which only makes me giggle (and earns me weird looks from others).

Sooo yeah, this was the only movie I’d seen in 2011 that won an Oscar for anything. But I’m actually okay with that since it was a good movie.

Did you see The Muppets? And I have to ask: “Are you a (wo)Man or a Muppet?”

About danicaavet

Danica Avet lives and writes in the wilds of South Louisiana. Unmarried with no children, she's the proud pet of two cats and a dog. With a BA in History, she decided there were enough fry cooks in the world and tried her hand at writing. Danica loves losing herself in the antics of her characters and blushes more often than not at the things they do. She likes to define her work as paranormal romance with a touch of Cajun spice, but most times her characters turn the notch up to "five-alarm fire"!

Posted on February 18, 2013, in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

