I’d like to the thank the Academy…for love in all its beautiful variations #Oscars

Even though I love movies, I have not seen a single film nominated for the Oscars.  Not one. No time.  ~Lesigh~  The only movies I manage to sneak in are with my kid as a family activity and half of those, I pay for on demand, months after they’ve been in the movie theater.  No complaints really.  My life is full. So I’ll talk about my all-time favorite Oscar films with a focus on love.

While there are truly many great Oscar-winning films (list here), if I only had two of them, my film library would be complete.  The first is quite simply one of best films about love ever made—Casablanca (3 Oscars including best picture in 1943).  No HEA here.  In the world of Casablanca, where the world hangs in a balance with World War II in full blaze, we see and feel the sacrifices that people, flawed and beaten up, are willing to make for love.  It’s love at its most unselfish and its most painful.  Sometimes the price of love is the ability to say good bye, to let go for a greater good. Or because it is what’s best for the one you love.

Casablanca,_Trailer_Screenshot

Because life is not always such a downer, my other favorite must-have Oscar winner is Lord of the Rings: Return of the King  which ran away with 11 Oscars including best picture in 2003.  Actually I love and own all three of the trilogy, but this one took best picture so I’m going with it.

aragorn_poster

While LOTR has an HEA—the world is saved,  Aragorn and Arwen get their happy ending,  Eowyn finds love in Faramir, and Sam discovers the courage to win his Rosie—the real love this story celebrates is friendship.   The relationship between Sam and Frodo grounds the movie and enables all the others to get to their happy ending.  Sam, who never wanted to be a hero or leave the Shire, stays with Frodo to the bitter end.  Even if Frodo cannot himself throw the ring, Sam’s dogged loyalty and reliability got him all the way to that precipice in Mt. Doom and home again.  Love should always bring you home.

sam_poster

So how have award winning movies captured love at its best?  Which of them are must owns and why?

About Sabrina Garie

Writer, reader, explorer, chauffeur (oops, I meant mom)

Posted on February 19, 2013, in Sabrina Garie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Sabrina Garie and commented:

    In the spirit of the Oscars, I am talking about my favorite Oscar winning films over at Darker Temptations. Its a different spin on love at the movies.

  1. Pingback: Training the Muse #writingtips with Fiona and other cool things « Sabrina Garie

Leave a Reply

