Oscar Favorites

I have no room to talk about the films that have been nominated for Oscars this year – or in the past several year. I’m a migraineur. Movies are a major trigger for me, so I very rarely go. This from someone who spent a huge portion of her childhood in a movie theater consuming story after story. Not to mention the fact that I blame a movie for making the twelve year old me mad enough at how a film ended that I borrowed Mom’s typewriter and rewrote it the way *I* wanted it to end.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who’s done that.

Looking at a list of Oscar winning films past, I see that I actually have seen a few of them. Gladiator – powerful story, amazing production and worthy of the awards it won, but it doesn’t haunt me. In 2009, it was the movie that didn’t win that stuck with me: Up – the animated movie based on something that actually happened in my neighborhood. Though it didn’t win, that movie was 100% worthy of the Oscar if only because it spawned a meme. “SQUIRREL!”

MEnglish Patienty favorite is The English Patient and not just because I had a terrific crush on Ralph Fiennes character. Incredible cinematography. For the gorgeous desert shots alone, it was worth seeing in the movie theater (and yes, I had to leave at one point to take migraine meds so I could see how the movie ended – it was worth it).  The plot summary from IMDB: “Beginning in the 1930’s, “The English Patient” tells the story of Count Almásy who is a Hungarian map maker employed by the Royal Geographical Society to chart the vast expanses of the Sahara Desert along with several other prominent explorers. As World War II unfolds, Almásy enters into a world of love, betrayal, and politics that is later revealed in a series of flashbacks while Almásy is on his death bed after being horribly burned in a plane crash.”

Frankly, it’s a crappy summary, because the film is rich with layers, and parallel stories, and cause and effect. Beautiful story telling – all the more because the story touches on the kinds of betrayals that would make you hate a character – and I couldn’t hate anyone in this movie. Except, of course, the Nazis. So why has this movie stayed with me after so many years?

Because while I disliked some of the choices the characters made, I understood them. And secretly, I’m not sure whether I wouldn’t have made the same deal-with-the-devil choices were I faced with similar threats to my loved ones.

Keep the Oscar love coming. I’m really enjoying seeing which movies resonated for other people. Is there a movie that years later, you can still see in your mind’s eye (and feel in your gut)?

About Marcella Burnard

Author of fast-paced, action-packed SFR and Fantasy

Posted on February 21, 2013, in Marcella Burnard and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I started writing in the same way–creating characters to fix endings I absolutely hated, to add a little zest or romance to a boring story, or to reinvigorate a series that had gotten stale. 🙂

  2. The English Patient haunted me. I didn’t know how it would end and what he did to get back to her stayed with me for a long time. Great choice.

Leave a Reply

