Bullet-Proof Kinks – Hurt/Comfort and DubCon

According to one definition, a bulletproof kink is a story element a fanfiction reader likes or is turned on by regardless of poor writing quality, implausibility, or unsavory plot elements.

Most readers have something that they just can’t get enough of whether they are consciously aware of that fact or not. It doesn’t have to be something that fits the more common idea of kink–like leather or gags. It just needs to be something that the reader gets hot and bothered about whether that reaction is reasonable or not. For some folks, it’s something as simple as reading about neck kissing, or regular sized women, or buying a dog together.

Keira’s bullet-proof kink is hurt-comfort. Have one protagonist be injured or sick while his love interest must stand by and cope with all the feelings of helplessness that brings on and then follow that up with a great deal of comforting of the unwell party? Keira is on board that train! She’s chugging out of the station! Whoo-hoo! All aboard!

I'm willing to bet some money that this fanart of Stiles and Derek from Teen Wolf makes Keira feel fluttery and hot inside.

I’m willing to bet some money that this fanart of Stiles and Derek from Teen Wolf makes Keira feel fluttery and hot inside.

And then there’s me. Yes, it should be known that I am pretty much the depraved one of this writing team. My bullet-proof kink? The thing I’ll read horrible, terribly written books or stories in order to get my fix of? Yes, that would be the very pervy dubcon, also known as dubious consent.

Let me be clear, in actual life I am a firm believer in good, clear consent. Every party of every sexual encounter must be able to enthusiastically consent to sex without any feeling of coercion, manipulation, or other imposing circumstance.

But in fiction and fantasy? Well, let’s just say that my earliest semi-sexual fantasies involved me being Robin (of Batman and Robin), and I’d been kidnapped, and said kidnappers were doing terribly wonderful-feeling things to me as a form of ‘torture’ while Batman frantically tried to rescue me. When it comes to fantasy, I am all for consent being incredibly suspect.

That guy is passed out, yo! You do not have consent to press your lips on his! Oooh, um, maybe that's kinda hot in this fantasy where Dean kisses Castiel.

That guy is passed out, yo! You do not have consent to press your lips on his! Oooh, um, maybe that’s kinda hot in this fantasy where Dean kisses Castiel.

I have been known to read pages and pages of complete crap simply because the set up and follow through hinted at dubcon. It doesn’t matter to me if it is Fuck or Die, Sex Pollen, or Aliens Made Them Do It. If it’s dubcon, I’m in.

Now, does it matter if the story is well-written? Of course. I’d much prefer that it was! Anyone would, but I’m even willing to overlook the use of epithets* (usually an automatic DNF for me) for some halfway well-done dubcon sex scenes. I’m just wrong in the head like that, okay? I make no apologies for the Cat Aliens dubcon I read the other day, okay? It’s my bullet-proof kink. My hands were tied.

*epithets: an adjective or descriptive phrase expressing a quality regarded as characteristic of the person or thing mentioned. Nothing kills a book or story for faster than the use of ‘the dark haired man’ or ‘the beautiful ballerina’ once we already know the characters’ names. If dubcon is my bullet-proof kink, then epithets are my bullet-proof turn off. Uh, unless dubcon is applied and then dubcon cancels out the epithets.


Photobucket

Keira Andrews and Leta Blake write fairy tale inspired m/m erotica and romantica with Ellora’s Cave. Check out Ascending Hearts, available through Ellora’s Cave, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Sony, and others! And also remember to look at Earthly Desires, the first book in the Tempting Tales series, available for purchase at AmazonBarnes and Noble, and Ellora’s Cave.

About Leta Blake

Author, mother, wife, and working on becoming stellar at life.

Posted on March 12, 2013, in Keira Andrews, Leta Blake and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I think you’re really going to like Strain if and when it’s published. The entire thing is predicated on a fuck-or-die trope.

  2. I am so right there with Keira. I will crawl through muck and mud (and “the other man”, UGH) for a bit of h/c. It’s *appalling*. Then I’ll back-button out of a well-written piece if it hits an anti-kink, heh. I enjoy good dubcon, too. Some of my favorite fandoms (SGA, SV) are *brilliant* at them. And — bonus! — they’re usually followed by wonderfully angsty emotional h/c 🙂

    Whatever makes us happy, right? To me, fic (all entertainment, really, but especially fic) is all about indulging one’s kinks and moods, whatever they may be 🙂

Leave a Reply

