Bullet-Proof Kink: Unresolved Sexual Tension

TV Tropes says UST is when “two people are obviously attracted to each other, but some element of the story is keeping them apart” and it’s a comment trend in a lot of television shows. It’s also something I adore, and why I tend to get aboard many shows.

CastleTake Castle. It took four seasons for Richard Castle (Nathan Fillion) and Kate Beckett (Stana Katic) to finally get on the same page, during which time the audience was subjected to different boyfriends, girlfriends, chronic misunderstandings, near-misses and a couple of near-death experiences.

It drove fans mad, but the pay-off was hugely successful, with the writers managing to avoid what’s commonly known as “the Moonlighting effect” – where the show dies once the main couple gets together. Since I’m in the UK and therefore behind, I’m not sure if they are still together, but I certainly hope so.

But after the trials and tribulations of Richard and Kate, why would anyone choose to put themselves through yet another couple in the throes of UST? Well, since this series of blog posts is about “bullet-proof kink”, it has to be obvious that UST is one thing that I personally can’t get enough of.

deathinparadiseI love the to-and-fro of a slowly building relationship, the one-step-forward and two-steps back. Even when it’s so, so frustrating, when done right, there’s always a little something to take from each interaction, each near-miss. And so I’m perfectly willing to have boarded yet another ‘ship, this time set in the glorious sunshine of the Caribbean and on the sandy beaches of the very wonderful Death In Paradise.

Will DI Richard Poole (Ben Miller) ever get over his terrible Englishness and do something about his DS, the very beautiful Camille Bordey (Sara Martins)? I certainly hope so, but after two short series, there’s not been a whole lot of progress made. And there’s another nine months or so before the third one airs.

But despite the lack of ground made, when it does air again, I’ll be sat on the sofa watching whatever happens because, at the end of the day, UST is something few television shows get wrong (and I really want them to get together!)

About Misa

Author and crochet addict. Mancunian Blogger of Life, the Universe & Everything. Talks budget decor, healthy living, self rediscovery, and geek.

Posted on March 13, 2013, in Misa Buckley and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. MISA! Watching Death in Paradise right now… I only just started watching it, on the recommendation of my boss, who’s British. I’m from the Caribbean, so he thought I’d like it, and I do. But Poole is such a burke… he amuses me no end.

    • He is a twit, but he has his moments (like when he does science! ahem) and is played to utter perfection by Ben. I love DiP to pieces and can’t wait for its return.

Leave a Reply

