I Like Them Beastly

The theme this time around is our favorite fairy tales.

I’m’ a writer, but first and foremost, I’m a reader. I’ve always enjoyed a good story and even better, I loved happy endings. My absolute favorite fairy tale is one that still appeals to me as much now as it did when I was a kid. Beauty and the Beast is one of those stories that works in so many ways.

You have the heroine, who while beautiful is also loyal and intrepid. I mean, I like to think I’d sacrifice my own happiness and freedom for the ones I love, but I’ve never had it put to the test. She doesn’t even really think twice, does she? She just does it. That’s true love, the kind that most people would love to have directed at them.

Then we have our beast. *Sigh* I’m a sucker for a tortured hero. I really am. He brought it on himself with his vanity and selfishness and he’s suffering for it. Ugly, disfigured and lonely, he’s the opposite of our Beauty. And the bargain he strikes with her is one guaranteed to make her miserable, which I believe is his intention. Misery loves company and all that, right?

But like with any great love story, a metamorphosis takes place. I’m going to use Disney’s version because I found I actually liked it. But basically, Beauty’s love and light penetrates Beast’s darkness and self-hatred. They begin to balance each other. I used to play a text-based RPC as a druid, a neutral guild. I guess that suited my personality the best because I strongly believe you can’t have all goodness and light, or all evil and darkness. You need both, because without one you’d never be able to appreciate the other.

To me, that’s what Beauty and the Beast represents. It’s the balancing of Beauty’s goodness and Beast’s darkness because no matter that they break the spell, that they fall in love, that darkness will remain with him. Or at least that’s what I like to think. His lesson is learned, but the scars are still there to remind him not to take the light and beauty for granted.

Pretty heavy, huh?

Who are some of your favorite “beastly” heroes from books or movies? My personal favorites are Zsadist from the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Lothaire from Immortals After Dark and nearly any of the heroes from Elizabeth Hoyt’s historical romances.

About danicaavet

Danica Avet lives and writes in the wilds of South Louisiana. Unmarried with no children, she's the proud pet of two cats and a dog. With a BA in History, she decided there were enough fry cooks in the world and tried her hand at writing. Danica loves losing herself in the antics of her characters and blushes more often than not at the things they do. She likes to define her work as paranormal romance with a touch of Cajun spice, but most times her characters turn the notch up to "five-alarm fire"!

Posted on March 18, 2013, in Books, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Zsadist is my favorite but Marie Harte’s Circe’s Recruits are pretty darn close!

  2. Such a great way to look at it! Light and dark mixing and balancing both hero and heroine. Hawke and Clay from the Psy/Changeling series are two of my favourite beastly characters.

  3. Its my favorite too! Great post. I don’t have time to rewrite mine which also uses Band B but I’ll see I’ll title and adapt it as complementary.

  1. Pingback: A Second Vote for Beauty and the Beast With a Great Big But… | Darker Temptations

Leave a Reply

