A Second Vote for Beauty and the Beast With a Great Big But…

Illustration at page 39 in Europa's Fairy Book
Beauty and the Beast reigns as my favorite fairy tale (not to mention TV show, movie, doll sets) and has since I was a little girl.  It has so much good stuff packed into such a short little story. Danica nailed so much of it in her post. Here are a few more:

  • The true nature of love, that which lies in the realm of the heart and soul,
  • The power and limitations of seeing the world predominantly through our eyes. How what we see so quickly creates images, expectations and assumptions that we then have to work beyond to see the real prize beneath.
  • The power of redemption and forgiveness. The beast was serving a sentence for a cruel act. He learned, grew and found redemption first in his own heart, then from another. It does not eradicate the scars, but tempers their pain.
  • The need for reflection–how sometimes we have to step outside a situations to see it clearly, as Beauty did when she first leaves the Beast.
  • The karma of loyalty.  Beauty’s reward for unselfish love is ultimately love returned.

So rich in goodness, and yet, I do have a great big BUT…

I can’t imagine the story reversed, where the man sees through female ugliness to find the true beauty inside.  Women also carry a beast inside, although it may take a different form than the male.  For me, it the story is to achieve its full power, the values it puts forth must apply to all of us, no matter the actual starting point.

Anyone want to take that on, give me an example where it might be true? Where the male sees through ugliness and tames the beast in the woman?

I would love to be wrong.


Sabrina Garie is on a journey to create the most kick-ass heroine in romance fiction. You can meet the first heroine in Fires of Justice at Elloras Cave, Amazon, and Barnes and Noble.

About Sabrina Garie

Writer, reader, explorer, chauffeur (oops, I meant mom)

Posted on March 19, 2013, in Sabrina Garie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Sabrina Garie and commented:

    I’m over at Darker Temptations, sharing my favorite fairy tale. Like many out there, fairy tales have been a source of joy and life lessons, good and bad. My favorite’s Beauty and the Beast, but I have some reservations. Come talk with me about it.

  2. Beauty and the Beast is a timeless love story and a story that can be retold time and again! It’s also one of my favorites but I promise, I will chose another fairy tale when I post! 🙂

    • I had already written it and didn’t have time to redo so I changed the title. It is one of the best tales out there. Feel free to do it. We’re writers, our goal is to put a fresh spin on a timeless topic.

  3. I love Beauty and the Beast. And I’d love to see the whole concept reversed, but I can’t think of a single case where it’s not. I mean, even the evil witches are conveyed as beautiful women, just more “beastly,” though their sexuality is more overt and less subversive in nature. Hm. I’m going to have to take this as a challenge to see if I can find a fairytale that allows the man to see through a woman’s beastliness. (rubs hands together) Hope isn’t high on this one, though.

    Great post!
    Denise

  4. Someone wrote a twist on Beauty and the Beast where the heroine was cursed with ugliness. Bwahaha I found it! Knight of Darkness by Kinley MacGregor (Sherrilyn Kenyon) was a good twist on Beauty and the Beast that forever endeared Sherrilyn’s books to me. You should give it a read sometime if you haven’t already. It’s a new take on Avalon and King Arthur.

  5. Thanks Danica, I’ll look for it. I like Sherrilyn Kenyon’s books because often her female characters are imperfect–not the standard, slim blonde beauties but all shapes and sizes.

Leave a Reply

