Twisted Fairytales

I love fairytales. Always have. Read everything I could get my hands on – including some of the unsanitized versions that included blood and lopping off body parts. So I can’t give you a favorite. I love ’em all. HOWEVER. We can talk about execution.

Unless you are of a certain age, you won’t know Fractured Fairytales from the Rocky and Bullwinkle show. Without fail, these are some of my fav reworks of classic fairytales. I linked in “Leaping Beauty”, but if you search Youtube for Fractured Fairytales, you’ll find a bunch of five to six minute episodes.

Twenty plus years past the era of Fractured Fairytales, Shelly Duvall produced Fairytale Theatre. Cheesy, fun sets. Silly costumes. STELLAR casts. It’s like she blackmailed a bunch of her friends into doing this project with her. Some of the shows are funnier than others, but my two favorites of hers are Cinderella (Jennifer Beale and Matthew Broderick) and The Princess and the Pea.  Here’s the opener for Princess and the Pea.

In books, Robin McKinley made Beauty and the Beast my very favorite retold fairytale of all time. Her book, BEAUTY, is one of my desert island books.

Beauty by Robin McKinley

Beauty by Robin McKinley

How about you? Are you a strict traditionalist when it comes to fairytales? Or do you get into the retellings – the more twisted the better?

About Marcella Burnard

Author of fast-paced, action-packed SFR and Fantasy

Posted on March 21, 2013, in Marcella Burnard, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I like to hit up ALL the re-telling of the classics. It is always interesting to see what the author can add to a great legend!!!

Leave a Reply

