My Favourite Story

Tigana[Cover blurb] Tigana is the internationally celebrated epic of a beleaguered country struggling to be free. It is the tale of a people so cursed by the dark sorceries of the tyrant king Brandin that even the name of their once beautiful land cannot be spoken or remembered. But, years after their homeland’s devastation, a handful of men and women set in motion a dangerous crusade – to overthrow their conquerors and bring back to the world the lost brightness of an obliterated name: Tigana.

I was 13 or 14 when I first read Tigana, written by Guy Gavriel Kay, but I can still remember the effect it had on me. I wept buckets for every character caught in the tangle of love and grief, even Brandin.

Up until this book, every story had been clean-cut, good verses bad, where good would triumph. Then I read Tigana and realised, for the first time, that not every bad guy is completely evil. That changed me – how I read other characters and, I think, how I write them.

I’m a sucker for an anti-hero. Perhaps Brandin isn’t quite that, but he is a wounded character. His actions are driven by anger and loss, and one cannot read Tigana and not feel for him. He’s not the hero, but neither is he pure villain. He’s so much more complex than that, as are the rest of the characters.

Because Tigana is a story about people, and every one of them has their own story. It’s how those stories mesh that make this the book it is.

About Misa

Author and crochet addict. Mancunian Blogger of Life, the Universe & Everything. Talks budget decor, healthy living, self rediscovery, and geek.

Posted on April 10, 2013, in Misa Buckley and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I loved this book. Misa, you and I are so on the same wavelength sometime.

Leave a Reply

