Tina’s Literary Favourites

The first time I saw the theme for this period I had a moment of panic. I have to admit something that is probably going to send me to Writer Hell!

I have not read any of the  so-called romantic classics. No Pride and Prejudice (love Colin Firth in his wet shirt though), no Wuthering Heights (I like my romances with a Happy Ending), no Jane Eyre (I’ve read this, does that count?). No Dostoyevski, Thomas Hardy or E. M. Forster.

When it comes to classics I enjoy the children’s classics far more than the ones written for adults.

The Secret Garden has always been one of my favourites. I love Burnett’s writing and the illustrations by Inga Morre in this edition are gorgeous.

I remember my grandmother reading The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe to me when I was little. I loved the adventure and the fact that there was a world where all these wonderful and amazing creatures existed.

Oh my goodness, I cannot tell you how much I adore Roald Dahl, especially when his stories are illustrated by Quentin Blake. I love the way he always gives his bad guys the comeuppance and that he doesn’t sugarcoat things just because the books are aimed at children. My grandparents live in Great Missenden in Buckinghamshire, which is where Roald Dahl did a lot of his writing. They even have the Roald Dahl Museum in the small village. We often walked by the gypsy caravan he’d bought for his children. You could say my imagination went a little crazy when I saw the wagon and remembered the stories my grandmother had read me. I wasn’t even ten years old…;).

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz is just fabulous. The film is cute, but the book is that much better. It surprised me when I re-read the story not that long ago how dark the original actually is. As a child I went through a number of the Oz stories, but unfortunately not all where available where I grew up.

This is just a small selection of my favourite classics, there are just too many to list.

What childrens’ books did you love? It could be something you read as a child or a kid’s book you’ve read recently.

About Tina Christopher

Erotic Romance writer

Posted on April 13, 2013, in Tina Christopher and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

