Kick ass women, technology and the male anatomy. Don’t you just love scifi, fantasy and PNR?

red sonja book imageMy first novella is paranormal, I have another PNR drafted and my current WIP is science fiction.  Why do I love these genre’s so much?  The easy answer is imagination.  These types of stories let your mind (and body) explore infinite places, experience countless possibilities, meet species whose cultural norms  both tantalize and terrify. In sum, they force us to consider what it means to be human when conditions change, to continuously recognize that there is not just one way to be, to look, to behave, to think, to feel.  Lifting the rules we get stuck in every day to discover who we really is liberating on sum fundamental level of existence.

As a writer and a reader, there are a few other serious perks to hanging out in these genres.

Build new worlds

Creating new species, new planets, and figuring out cultures whole cloth is just plain good fun. It’s like a great big puzzle with no beginning or end. The writer’s job is to define those puzzle edges before the rest of the picture falls into place.  As a reader, I love to see how those new worlds unfold, how authors innovate with humanity, myth and science.

Play  What if

Both these genres allow us ask the what if questions and play with the answers:

  • What if we could shift into another form?
  • What if aliens came to earth?
  • What if we could move through time?

No Limits on the Male Anatomy

Ever notice that the male anatomy in shifters, vampires, aliens and other paranormal creatures don’t always play by the same rules. The can go all night. Nuff said.

Female Power

Scifi  and fantasy were some of the first genres to deal explicitly with female power as a good thing. For that, it will always own a piece of my literary heart.

Explore the boundaries of science and myth

Danica hit the nail on the head with her post so I’ll just send you on over.

When did the paranormal or scifi bug hit you?  Why do you like it so much?


Sabrina Garie is on a journey to create the most kick-ass heroine in romance fiction. You can meet the first heroine in Fires of Justice at Elloras Cave, Amazon, and Barnes and Noble.

About Sabrina Garie

Writer, reader, explorer, chauffeur (oops, I meant mom)

Posted on April 16, 2013, in Sabrina Garie and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Sabrina Garie and commented:

    I’m blogging at Darker Temptations today on why I love scifi, fantasy and paranormal genres both as a writer and a reader. Love to hear why you do?

  2. 🙂 You said it, Sabrina. I’ve been in love with SF/Fantasy and paranormal my whole life, because of all you list! Good luck with your books.

  3. I fell in love with fantasy when I was a teenager and I picked up The Hobbit for the first time.

    • I got hooked in with the Lord of the Rings trilogy, before the Hobbit. All depends on which ones you start with, but I’ve always loved these books, and remain a big fan. My first real intro was science fiction–I had to read Childhood’s End in 9th grade and I was hooked.

Leave a Reply

