I Get To Make S*** Up!

I write Sexy Steampunk and Sensuous Sci-Fi. And I get to make s*** up!

My Tangled series is erotic science-fiction and so far consists of

Tangled Shadows

tangledshadows_msr

Tangled Hunger

tangledhunger_msr

and Tangled Indulgence

tangledindulgence_msr

It takes place in a world inhabited by humans, Vampires and Naemas, a race that is part angel, part demon. These races are just part of the world, aliens if you want, and all have their own gifts and struggles. I just love the idea that I can create whole worlds and races, even spaceships, and let my imagination run wild. I usually have a concept in mind and then the characters come to me. At first just in single words, but the more I think about them, the more they develop in my head. I tend to outline, but that is usually just a sentence or two, leaving me plenty of room to manoeuvre (and get stuck;). The more I write, the more I get to know my characters and the more my worlds come alive.

At the moment I have plans for one more Tangled book, possibly two (a one-sentence character from Tangled Indulgence demands his own story;) and then I want to branch out. In Tangled Shadows we meet a young woman with unusual gifts and an even more unusual heritage. Her story will start a whole new series with new races, characters and worlds…and I can’t wait to get started.

I branched out into steampunk because I love the aesthetics and, once again, the possibilities are endless. You have certain structures in place, but you can twist and turn your history until it works for you and the story. In Rescue by Ruin a young woman has to find a way to protect herself from an abusive man by ruining her reputation. That way she will be cast out of society and become ineligible to marry.

rescuebyruin_msr

I stuck quite closely to real history and the conventions set up in that world. Of course, the place her ruination is to take place is a dirigible of ill-repute, but that is the fun part-mixing reality and fantasy.

In the story I just finished, Dirigibles Are Forever, Queen Victoria passed a law a few years after taking the crown to give women equal rights. My story takes place nearly fifty years later, but my heroine still has to struggle with men who believe they can do a better job and don’t like having a woman as a supervisor. Obviously this never happened, but it created a new Victorian world for me to play in and mix things up.

I enjoy reading contemporary and (proper) historical stories, but I love diving into a world created by an author even more. I love seeing what challenges and rules they come up with and the torture they put their characters through.

What can I say? It is just so much fun to make s*** up!;)

What do you prefer-reality or fantasy or a mix thereof?

Note: I stole the phrase from Gina X. Grant. When we brainstorm a story and I worry about accuracy or how to move something along she always tells me to make s*** up.

About Tina Christopher

Erotic Romance writer

Posted on April 27, 2013, in Tina Christopher and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I like to read a mix. There are times I want something that’s total fantasy other times reality or a mix of the two.

    • I completely agree, Suzlyne, it totally depends on the mood you’re in. Still, for me there is something exciting about discovering the world an author has created. On average I am more drawn towards stories with a fantastical/futuristic element.

  2. I do prefer fantasy, but mixing it with real life, like in Steampunk, is so much fun too! Good luck with these, Tina!

Leave a Reply

