Calling the Love Scene

Love scenes! What makes ’em? What breaks ’em? What’s hot? What’s not? Oh, there are so many ways to answer these questions and there is no doubt that everyone, just like in life, has their own cuppa when it comes to the written sex scene.

4f60c74f

An auspicious start to a love scene, I must say!

For me, I’ve noticed I’m either into a quick start, where the characters jump into bed immediately due to uncontrollable passion, which then evolves into romantic, emotional love making eventually, or I’m into the long, drawn out UST that is resolved with intense, long, endless sex scenes that make your toes curl.

2940045011518_p0_v1_s260x420

click to buy

Interestingly, though, I realize that the two books I wanted to talk about today have a bit of both. The relationship in the first book, Calling Pomegranate by Nisha-Anne D’Souza, begins with one of the least sexy, most uncomfortable sex scenes I’ve ever read. The characters are strangers, the sex is obviously not very pleasurable to either, and the motivations for it are boredom and fucked-up-ness on both sides.

After that, via a series of really difficult, and often unpleasant encounters, we see the characters start to develop feelings, almost like tentacles that reach out and entwine with the other person’s soul, leaving them embedded in each other’s lives even when they’d really rather not be. The sex scenes during this portion of the story are beautifully written, with crisp, sexy imagery, but even so I’m not quite there with the relationship, so I’m not entirely breathless from them. (Though I am definitely breathless from the lovely quality of the writing.)

Finally, about halfway through the story, we reach a point where the tentacles–I hasten to add these are metaphorical tentacles, not actual tentacles! it’s not that kind of book!–reaching between them have started to grow stronger, weakening the walls they’ve got up around them to the point that the start to soften entirely, their tender selves showing through the cracks forced open by these binding moments between them.

At that point, the sex becomes a massive mindfuck of intensity. How much will they give up to each other? How much more absorbed can they be before it ceases to be functional, as it is now, and inspiring, as it is now, and becomes a mash of obsession nearly as sick as the careless hurtfulness of their early encounters? And that’s where I’ve left off reading, so I can’t tell you what happens after that.

What I do know is that the sex scenes in the book so far are exquisite in ways I can only tell you to check out for yourself. They were so well done that they kept me reading during some difficult passages in the book when I couldn’t decide if I loathed the characters or only found them tolerable. At this point, I’m glad I carried on. There are sex scenes in this book that will forever inspire and make me think about how to go forward with any given sex scene I’m writing.

I will cop to the fact that there are probably too many sex scenes in this book. And this is me talking, so if I say too many, then there are probably too many. (Because I love sex scenes! Love ’em! So much!) But as I approach each one, sometimes thinking to myself, “Oh, really, another sex scene?” I find myself seduced by it. Each one is so entirely different, separate, and psychologically important to the development of the relationship that I can understand why Ms. D’Souza found it impossible to cut any particular one. I often go into the scene thinking, “I bet this one could’ve been done away with.” And then leave the scene thinking, “But would I have wanted to miss out on that?” And the answer has always been no.

A sample:

So I bore down and she moaned harder, rising to meet me, faster and breathless and lovely. A slight sheen of sweat was slipping down my back but it was so much hotter inside her and getting wetter all the time.

“Oh god, Sean,” she gasped and I leaned down now, pressed my abdomen hard against hers, ducked my head and shoulders so I could bury my face into her hair, my elbows deep in the mattress and fists curled as her thighs and arms came around me and she took me in as deep as she could, my cock aching, brain delirious, as my balls tightened, pulled hard into the orgasm so close. I tilted my face up and bit the underside of her chin. I got my teeth in, fucked her sharper, and felt it as she trembled on the edge and then came in a tide of cries and convulsions, her cunt wet and crushing along the length of my cock. That was all I needed. I lifted and fitted my mouth over hers, kissed her and felt I was kissed back as I came, hard and endless and devastating, into her.

Excerpt From: Nisha-Anne D’Souza. “Calling Pomegranate.” iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

And another brief sample highlighting some of what I love about the writer’s choices with this book:

From under my other arm, I watched the shapes of leaves change on the sunlit ceiling. My mind was empty, vast, but slowly thought was creeping back along the edges. I could smell her, could smell us, the sticky heady aroma of her come and mine, and it was blending in this hideous fantastic way with her perfume and our sweat and my mother’s flowers.

Excerpt From: Nisha-Anne D’Souza. “Calling Pomegranate.” iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

BUY CALLING POMEGRANATE

casket

This love scene didn’t end well at all, now did it?

Now, I want to talk about another book, briefly, which some smoking hot m/m sex scenes, because we all know that’s my most favorite cuppa when it comes to reading. For reasons. Which I shall explain to you another day, but for now let’s just go with this gif as reason enough!

tumblr_m6vpdfjqjy1rqk3f2

Well, hello, smokin’ hotness!

In Skylar M. Cates’ debut novel, Exposed, there are some seriously smoking hot sex scenes. I’ve given some thought to what make them so hot, because it’s not UST, that’s for dang sure. I think it is my other kryptonite: serious sexual chemistry that deepens over time to have emotional consequences for both parties. Against their wills. It’s emotional dubcon! Ha! Seriously, though, it kind of is. Neither party wants to fall in love and, yet, they do. And it leads to some seriously wonderful, sexy, wild sex between them.

In the reviews for this book, you’ll sometimes see things like, “Too much sex!” But, uh, no. That’s inaccurate. Not too much sex. Sorry. If you didn’t like the sex in this then…well, I don’t even know, man. I don’t even know.

I should probably talk more about the reasons this sex is so hot. Let’s see–two alpha males, both prone to temper in their own way, but one with a cold temper and the other with a hot head, and you’ve got the recipe for some raging hot sex. Throw in a set up where one of them can’t be honest, and the other is being honest for the first time in years? You’ve got emotional angst to ramp up that hot sex times ten! I can’t recommend it enough for the sex scenes alone. Yowza.

BUY EXPOSED

Clearly, I have a thing for casual sex turning into deep emotional sex. That’s what’s come out of this post, huh? Yeah. Okay, well, hopefully you’ll buy these two books and enjoy them as much as I did!

Photobucket

Keira Andrews and Leta Blake write fairy tale inspired m/m erotica and romantica with Ellora’s Cave. Check out Ascending Hearts, available through Ellora’s CaveAmazonBarnes & NobleSony, and others! And also remember to look at Earthly Desires, the first book in the Tempting Tales series, available for purchase at AmazonBarnes and Noble, and Ellora’s Cave.

About Leta Blake

Author, mother, wife, and working on becoming stellar at life.

Posted on May 7, 2013, in Books, Keira Andrews, Leta Blake, Reading, Sex, Sexy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

