Sex for sex’s sake or do you want more?

Sexy muscular naked man with water drops on stomachI’m having a difficult time thinking of my favorite sex scene I’ve ever read. I don’t read many romance novels, mostly because when I get the chance to read, it’s usually a murder mystery, and well, sex and romance take second to the plot. Sex can be implied, and if the writer takes the reader into the bedroom, it’s for a few paragraphs, not pages.

I know…that’s not what you want to hear from a writer that pens m/m romance. I write hot scenes in my books, but it’s not where my heart lies – it’s in the characterization and plotting.

I like sexual tension, but there are some scenes that are damn sexy when it’s just sex and eventually the relationship moves to something more meaningful. Some authors are just really good at writing sex scenes. They instinctively know how to hit all the emotions and bring in the senses without overdoing it with purple prose (Which I’ve been accused of when writing one of my first sex scenes! Since then, I’ve tried to tone it down : )

I once took a class in writing sexual tension, and the instructor talked about the twelve stages of intimacy:

  1. Eye to Body
  2. Eye to Eye
  3. Voice to Voice
  4. Hand to Hand
  5. Arm to Shoulder
  6. Arm to Waist
  7. Mouth to Mouth
  8. Hand to Head
  9. Hand to Body
  10. Mouth to Breast (or nipples in the case of m/m)
  11. Hand to Genital
  12. Genital to Genital

It doesn’t matter if it’s a man and woman, woman and woman or man and man – intimacy is intimacy and these steps are the same for everyone. One of my favorite sex scenes is from an older m/m romance by J.B. McDonald – In the Rough. Rick has always been in love with Jay, but Jay doesn’t have his act together, and Rick believes he’s not the right person for his friend. The sex between them is achingly hot because of how Rick feels. It’s also wonderful to watch Jay change his perception of Rick and admit how much he loves him.

Happy Reading!

http://www.vikilyn.com
http://www.vikilyn.com/blog
http://www.facebook.com/VikiLynRomance
http://www.twitter.com/VikiLynRomance

Viki Lyn: Award winning author of male/male paranormal and contemporary romances. You can find all of Viki’s books at the following sites: Amazon, All Romance Ebooks and GLBT Bookshelf.


Thou shall not kill.

For archangel Razi-el, he had no choice. He would break God’s commandment again if it were to save Uri-el from a demon’s talons. Yet even God’s most trusted archangel cannot avoid punishment. No longer Razi-el, he is now Izar, a Protector sworn to kill for the angels.

When a Protector kills an angel, Izar is summoned to work alongside Uri-el to capture the killer. Izar is shocked when his bloodlust spikes hot for the archangel. He knows better than to go after forbidden fruit. Refusing to give in to temptation, he ignores his body’s tempestuous arousal for Uri-el until a heated argument turns his blood into molten lust.

As they rush to find the killer, their passion plays into the demon’s plan. Izar will have to make a choice between life and death if he is to save Uri-el again.

http://www.ellorascave.com/sins-of-lust.html

Posted on May 9, 2013, in Viki Lyn and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Interesting perspective. Being a hopeless romantic, I cannot write sex for sex sake, just as I cannot live with that model for my life. And you’re right. Sometimes the suggestion can be enough, if its done well. I tend to mix the two, but ti’s not intentional It’s just where the story, or characters take me.

  2. I hear you Maggie. And, also true it depends on the story I write as far as how hot it is.

Leave a Reply

