A MacBook Pro, Surround Sound and Satan’s Minion

15575928_sDearest MANhandlers, I saw Henry Cavill in the new Superman. I am far from recovered. Did I mention it was in 3D? Accordingly, I felt the overwhelming need for exceptional pretties this week. I searched far and wide, and I firmly believe the effort paid off. Enjoy!

So many people ask me what my writing rituals are that you’d think I’d be accustomed to the question by now. I’m not. Why? Because no two days are ever the same for me. Due to a back surgery gone wrong and an autoimmune problem, I do most of my writing lying down. Not something I’m comfortable with, but it is what it is. This means I’m home for 98% of my writing efforts. There are a few comforts and one very dark reality that I regularly have around me. These are:

MacBook Pro

Last September, my beloved husband of 17 years who is a complete techie and a huge supporter of my writing, realized I needed a new computer. My beloved Sony Vaio had become geriatric and wasn’t meeting my needs anymore. He knew I was an Apple lover, so he suggested a MacBook Pro. Then he made it happen. I initially thought I’d have trouble navigating through the setup and behind the scenes stuff. Not so. Now? I can’t live without my Mac. I’m a complete convert. I’m even looking at a MacBook Air for the one or two times a year that I travel. Sick, isn’t it? But it’s true. After the MacAttack came the…

Bose Headphones
Music is my lifeblood. Seriously. I have playlists for every story I write, whether it’s a novella or a full-length manuscript. I can hear a song that played on repeat during an intense scene and I’m dragged right back into that headspace. When Christmas rolled around last year, the aforementioned husband extraordinaire splurged and bought me a pair of the Bose Quiet Comfort 15 noise canceling headphones. I had a pair the Beats earbuds, so I wasn’t too worked up about the Bose. I’m an idiot. They’re on my head so much I feel naked without them. I even wear them when I write in public places. They. Are. Awesome. But then there’s the…

Satan’s Minion
photo (39)Lucifer called the other day and left my kitten a voicemail. Apparently Delta had listed some discounted roundtrip tickets to the 9th Circle of Hell and he thought she might like to come home for a visit. Okay, okay. She’s not that bad. And no, the three scars she’s left me with so far weren’t from life-threatening wounds (though to hear her tell it, I’m lucky I still have my limbs). She’s my companion when she sleeps by my side. Then she wakes, her head does a couple of 360’s and it’s game on. There is nothing sacred in this house. We are puppets, she the puppet master. So cute for an Agent of Darkness, no?

While these things are what I like to have around me when I write (the Minion makes for a great villain character study, just ask the dogs), I find that I’ll steal words whenever I can. I carry a notebook with me to jot down ideas or lines or plot bunnies or solutions to problems. I’m forever tweaking at odd hours. This proves one of two things. Either I like my space but am flexible enough to write in spite of my preferences, or I’m certifiable. It’s your call.

Posted on June 26, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hee hee! Your agent of the devil is a doll. It is because of my four demon spawn that I no longer actually write at home… I may be slow, but after the fourth ‘walking on the keyboard’ blue screen, I do learn. 😉

    • LOL! The concept of four minions makes my primitive tail tuck in fear. She’s an angel when she’s sleeping, but that’s about the only time. My dogs have entered the CWPP: Canine Witness Protection Program. I feel sorry for them, and they’re *huge* dogs. 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

    • Thanks, Jan. She’s a handful, that’s for sure. I had absolutely no idea what I was in for when I got her. She’s a Maine Coon, so she’s this adorable thing with a positively huge, bushy tail (like a raccoon). Cracks me up to watch her sashay away.

Leave a Reply

