In praise of Martha Jones #DrWho

It was coming. One day I would  get to do a Dr. Who post.  The theme for the next two weeks is favorite sidekick and when it comes to Dr. Who  my favorite is Martha Jones.

Freema Agyeman 2007

I know a lot of Dr. Who fans and  she does not always rise to the top. But let me make my case.  I admit, I hated Rose. Not because I had anything against her personally, but I prefer my Dr. Who as a character apart, isolated, alone–a character who encapsulated the true cost of being a hero, of having to stand apart.   Someone who eventually leaves, because he must.  Even though I write romance novels, he is the one hero who I identified with because of his aloneness.   When he and Rose fall in love, that fundamental Dr. Whoness seemed ripped out by the seams. I didn’t like it.  He’s the one hero who I need to remain attached

Enter stage left:  Martha Jones.   Her love for the Doctor is unrequited and painful, something she wears on her sleeve for all to see.  I ached every time I watched them together.  That process makes her stronger. It builds her to be something and someone who not only saves the world when the Doctor is captured by the Master, but like other Dr. Who sidekicks, think Sarah Jane, she becomes a Dr. Who protegy, doing his work on earth after the Doctor leaves.  Martha nailed it, and because of her, I learned to love Dr. Who again after the whole Rose romance had me lose faith.  When Martha finally chose to leave him, sadder, wiser, stronger.   It seemed like she left him because the Doctor  love another.  She knew, deep down inside. its because the Doctor belongs to all of us.

And while I’m here, I’ve got a new book out. Just wanted to share. It’s contemporary, but its second chance romance for a single mother and divorced sports coach.  Like Martha, Jocelyn and Jared deserved a second chance to find someone to love.

nextmove_msr

I so love my cover. Here’s the blurb.

Chamber of Commerce CEO and single mother Jocelyn Wade plays to win—in the boardroom, at local politics and for her daughter. With an overloaded life and a heart scarred shut, she doesn’t do relationships. Ever. Until Jared Wyatt, the hot out-of-town fling she can’t seem to forget swaggers into her life with a different agenda—making Jocelyn his own.

Surviving a shattered marriage, Jared swore off women until a night of unparalleled passion with Jocelyn reawakens needs he thought long gone. When a new job as high school athletic director lands him in Jocelyn’s town, where sports and business rule, he must stay one move ahead of her in the game to win her body and heart.

After rancorous local politics upend their game board, they both must learn to trust again or lose a second chance at love.

A Romantica® contemporary erotic romance from Ellora’s Cave

 

Ellora’s Cave

Amazon         

 

 

About Sabrina Garie

Writer, reader, explorer, chauffeur (oops, I meant mom)

Posted on July 9, 2013, in Sabrina Garie and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Sabrina Garie and commented:

    I’m over at Darker Temptations talking about my favorite Dr. Who sidekick and my new book. Come visit.

  2. I loooooooooved Rose, but I don’t understand all the hate for Martha at all. I think she was a fantastic character, and I liked the actress too. I’m just now most of the way into series 4, so I don’t have a ton to compare her to…but while she’s no Rose, she’s better than Donna. 🙂

  3. Thanks for dropping by Bill. I adored Martha, and I hurt for her. I liked Rose but the whole Rose-The Doctor relationship was problematic for me. I do agree, Donna was irksome, but she kept the doctor out of his own head, which was what he needed at the time.

Leave a Reply

