Hanging out at Ted’s Place. A Lot.

Welcome to the internet.  You know the place. Full of mysteries, both frightening and beautiful.  A world of information at your fingertips, new friends to meet, stalkers to fend off, political arguments to be had. Frustrating, boring, overwhelming, fun and always, always, engaging.  The topic of the next two weeks–our biggest internet time suck.

First, I’ll waive off the obvious.  Like many others out there, I’d be lying if I didn’t say social media, predominantly in the form of Facebook, remains my single biggest time suck on the internet.

Also, as a writer, research can draw me on, chasing facts and stories from site to site to get that one piece of information that will my own story fall together.  Or maybe, the research is just so interesting I get drawn into it, that I know now everything I could possibly know about Amazon lore when all I really needed to know was a list of Amazon queens.  But given that I am prone to lose myself in research, I tend to keep that tightly under wraps and only embark when I really can’t move forward with out.  Wherever possible,  I often purposely leave the research until the end for that very reason.

Now that I’ve gotten the easy answers out of the way, I will introduce you to my real weakness and reveal my true geek DNA.  If I want to get lost, I just pop on over to Ted Talks and watch those videos.  Speakers are chosen for their ability to communicate well, their topics are challenging and fascinating and some are just so cool and they can be a real motivational voice in the dark when I’m feeling blue and need to hear someone say things I need to hear.

Take a visit. Here’s the link to the playlist on how to tell a story, with videos by writers and thinkers on story telling. Here a couple links to how to tell a story videos.

Chimamanda Adichie: The danger of a single story

JJ Abrams: The mystery box

But you remember, once you enter….

Bwhahaha!

When you eventually drag yourself back to the world, tell me how you like it.


Sabrina Garie is on a journey to create the most kick-ass heroine in romance fiction. Meet Jocelyn, a single mom who gets a second chance at love in her newest book Next Move available from Ellora’s Cave and Amazon

About Sabrina Garie

Writer, reader, explorer, chauffeur (oops, I meant mom)

Posted on July 23, 2013, in Sabrina Garie and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on Sabrina Garie and commented:

    I’m at several different places on the internet today. At Darker Temptations talking about Internet Time Sucks (you know all about those) and at Reviews by Chrystal (http://reviewsbycacb.blogspot.com/2013/07/next-move-by-sabrina-garie-smexy-fab.html) as part of my blog tour. Come visit.

Leave a Reply

