Series Love: Read, Relive, Rejoice

Sexy muscular man isolated on blackWell, my beloved MANhandlers, this week’s little bit o’ sexiness is here, ready for some serious appreciation. Gorgeous, isn’t he?

There is a simple truth in my life: I’m a literary series whore. Yes, yes. I know it’s hard to believe, but it’s true. I’m a total Alpha leader in the SLUT regime. (SLUT = Series Lovers Uniting Together). I read my first series in college and was hooked. The book? Outlander by the infamous Diana Gabaldon. Again, I know it’s shocking. I blame her for my series love, and rightly so.

Three of my favorite series of all times are Gena Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld (LotU) and Larissa Ione’s Demonica and Lords of Deliverance series. Why? Recurring characters done well. When I get into a series, I’m almost obsessive compulsive about it. I have to real All the Books. But there are some series I just can’t get into. I won’t name names because it’s pointless — it’s just my taste and says nothing about the quality of the authors’ works. Knowing I’m going to get a little nutty about reading everything in a series (and in order, thanks), I tend to be a little snobbish about the series I pick up. But Gena and Larissa? Doesn’t matter what they write — I’ll read it. And if it’s in a series, new or old, I’m all over it.

Pile of books on a black backgroundThe greatest thrill for me in reading a series is meeting secondary characters who, at some point, get their own books. It’s like literary foreplay, isn’t it? Teasing and tempting and yet waiting for the big payoff? And when it gets there, and it’s done right, it’s so worth the wait! I typically go through and re-read the series when a new book is coming out, just so I’m emotionally connected to the players. It’s just my modus operandi. The appeal that a series is so well-written that I can read and re-read it and still receive ridiculous satisfaction? That’s a long-term love affair right there.

As for writing, I’ve found series flip my switch. I fall in love with the characters in a much more intimate way and want to play in their world agains. I love to create secondary characters readers want stories for (hello, Darius fans!). My aim is to scratch that itch at some point. Always.

I’m seriously interested in finding out whether or not I’m on a sparsely populated island of series lovers or if the world is rich with them. Give me a shout out and let me know what you think about the value of series. Cheers!

Posted on August 7, 2013, in Denise Tompkins, Reading, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I don’t know if I could have explained my love of reading series’ nearly as well as you have. What I love is when each book has a new set of main characters while having previous characters still around and introducing new characters.

    • I totally agree, suzlyne. It’s all about the satisfaction of knowing those other characters are happy. I need that. N.E.E.D. It’s like emotional crack to see them “in real life.” It’s such a total hit. I’m stuck on it big time. And in the series that cross populate characters, when it’s done well? I get a real kick out of it. It’s like a spontaneous gift, seeing someone from another series pop in.

      My new trilogy has recurring characters with a new hero/heroine in each one. I’ve gained a new appreciation for the difficulty of having so many characteristics on a page, but it makes me enjoy it that much more. 🙂

      Thanks for the comment!
      Denise

  2. Finding a new loooong series is better that finding out that there’s a 2 for 1 special on Ben & Jerry’s at the store. I think I mentioned on Twitter that I read really fast so it’s great when there a few books that I have to catch up on to the newest book. The more the merrier!! I buy as many as I can without going into financial ruin and settle down for a nice long book-fest. Even better if the B&J’s really was on sale!! I try to limit myself to one a day but sometimes temptation is just too much. I noticed that this has become worse since I switched to reading on the Kindle and you don’t have physically get up to get the next book. I also like series with interlocking characters. Seeing how they grow and develop is one of the prizes you have as a reader for keeping up with the books. However there’s nothing worse than when an author suddenly changes the personality of a long time character with no real explanation, it just fits the plot better. It’s also sad when series peter out on you. I loved the New Species series by Laurann Dohner but after a while they kind of ran together. So, yes series are definitely great, when they’re well done and the author pops them out on a regular basis (hint hint)

    • LOL. I completely agree. And “popping them out on a regular basis” is every author’s goal. I’m guilty of letting far too much time lapse between Wrath and Vengeance. It’s difficult when you’re writing for multiple lines and trying so desperately to cover all your writerly bases. 🙂 But taking care of the people who read my work is as important as putting out a good manuscript. I know how hard it is to wait, though. I really do. I have a hard time, as a reader, waiting for the next books in my favorite series too. (Btw? I’ll try to be better.)

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. No, you like the Outlander series?! I hadn’t heard to mention it before;). I love a good series for a lot of the reasons you’ve mentioned. I especially love that moment when a secondary character I’ve seen book after book gets his own story (Hawke in Kiss of Snow comes to mind…I may have mentioned him before;).

    • Heh. Yeah, my Outlander fixation has been whipped to a frenzy with this whole casting announcement thing for the upcoming 2014 Starz channel mini-series. Sam Heughan as Jamie Fraser could NOT be a better choice. NOM!

      But on the topic of series, I love seeing that favorite secondary character end up with a story of his/her own. I love watching them pop in for roles in upcoming books so we get the satisfaction of knowing they’re “okay” and the HEA really was “ever after.” 🙂

      I’ll have to look at the Kiss of Snow book. I’m all about finding great new series to read! Thanks for the comment, Tina. I really enjoy chatting with you!

  4. Is the Outlander series really that great_ I looked and the single book prices for the Kindle were pretty high, but there’s a 7 book bundle that brings the price down. I just need some assurance before I commit to 7000+ pages!

    • The first four books are ah-may-ziiiinnnng. I get a *little* less psychotic as the story spreads out to encompass so many other story lines. Honestly? I bought the bundle just to have them on my Kindle. I also own the paperbacks and hardbacks. I (cough) may not (cough) be the best person to ask about this series. LOL

  5. BTW, the picture is great. the jeans start just at the right point. *sigh* why is it that fully naked frontal guys just look…… not so ,,,,,hot? Back view, super!! But the front? It just looks a little vulnerable all hanging out there. Maybe that’s just me though.

    • There’s something about the tease, about the whole idea there’s pleasure in those pants. I’m a huge fan of suggestive photography. I think it’s delicious. 🙂

      • It’s like the old 49ers – There’s gold in them thar jeans!!
        My old apartment was directly across the street from a Body Shop and many years ago they had a WOOOOOONDERFUL poster that showed a very yummy bare tanned toned (you get the idea) male butt. One morning I looked out my living room window and saw this window display. I just HAD to have the poster. I did buy it. For several years it hung inside the door of my bedroom closet but then I took it into the store where I work on Saturdays and hung it on our fridge. My colleagues still get a kick out of it. Far better than the scantily clad female that was on there before since we are now an all woman crew.

Leave a Reply

